Virginia Woman Severely Injured In Loudoun County DUI Incident
A Virginia woman sustained severe injury after leaving a moving vehicle operated by an alleged drunk driver, according to an article by Patch.
The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office reported that this incident occurred on May 11 just after 8 p.m. At that point, the Virginia woman was a passenger in a vehicle operated by a 47-year-old man. The driver was allegedly under the influence of alcohol. Fearing for her safety, the female passenger apparently exited the vehicle while it was still moving.
First responders transported the Virginia woman to a nearby hospital for immediate treatment of life-threatening injuries. When law enforcement arrived at the scene, they noticed that the driver displayed signs of intoxication. As a result, law enforcement arrested that man for driving under the influence (DUI) and transported him to the Loudoun County Adult Detention Center.
Given the potential consequences of this incident, it seems appropriate to review how Virginia law defines and punishes DUI offenses.
DUI Laws in Virginia
The state laws against DUI appear under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-266. This section prohibits any person from driving or operating certain vehicles while under the influence of or impaired by:
- Narcotic drugs, self-administered intoxicants, or similar substances;
- Illegal drugs, such as cocaine, methamphetamine, MDMA, or PCP; or
- A combination of multiple substances.
Under Virginia law, when a driver can no longer operate their vehicle safely, they are considered impaired. In those circumstances, any operation of a vehicle can lead to Virginia charges for DUI.
DUI Penalties in Virginia
The state laws against DUI appear under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270. This section classifies DUI as a Class 1 misdemeanor on the first or second offense. The punishment for misdemeanor DUI typically features a mandatory minimum of $250 to $500 in criminal fines and, sometimes, 10 to 20 days in jail.
That being said, a third, fourth, or subsequent DUI charge becomes a Class 6 felony. The punishment for felony DUI usually includes a mandatory minimum of $1,000 in criminal fines and 90 days to 12 months in prison.
Under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270, DUI offenders are also subject to mandatory suspension or revocation of driving privileges. The applicable suspension period under this section can fluctuate from 12 to 36 months. Permanent revocation of driving privileges is also possible under Section 18.2-270.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you need legal assistance with DUI in Virginia, it can be helpful to contact a proven Leesburg criminal attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP feature demonstrated experience in DUI cases and other aspects of criminal defense. Reach out to us today.