Virginia Reckless Driver Strikes & Flips School Bus
A 30-year-old Virginia man faces reckless driving charges after allegedly crashing into a school bus and causing it to flip over, according to an article by WTOP.
This incident occurred in the afternoon of December 16. At that point, the school bus left an elementary school to take 12 students home. Then the Virginia man in question allegedly tried to pass the school bus. But instead, the Virginia man allegedly struck the bus, causing it to leave the road and turn over, and then smashed into another passenger vehicle.
As a result of this incident, four people received medical treatment at a local hospital — two students, the Virginia man, and the driver of the other passenger vehicle.
While this matter continues to progress in the Virginia courts, it seems like a fitting moment to review the state laws against and penalties for reckless driving.
Reckless Driving Laws in Virginia
The comprehensive law against reckless driving appears under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852. This section prohibits any person from driving in a fashion that endangers property or other people.
On top of the comprehensive law mentioned above, Virginia also classifies other driving behaviors as reckless, including but not limited to:
- Driving excessively fast;
- Failing to use proper signals;
- Passing two vehicles at the same time; and
- Many other reckless or dangerous driving behaviors.
Reckless Driving Penalties in Virginia
The penalties for reckless driving appear under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868. This section categorizes reckless driving as a Class 1 misdemeanor in many cases. If convicted of this charge, the penalties feature an upper limit of $2,500 in criminal fines and a 12-month jail sentence.
That being said, there is a Class 6 felony version of reckless driving under Section 46.2-868. If convicted of this charge, the penalties feature an upper limit of $2,500 in criminal fines and a five-year prison sentence.
In order to face Class 6 felony charges for reckless driving, an offender must:
- Engage in reckless driving with a suspended or revoked license; and
- Cause a fatality as a direct result of the offense.
Above and beyond the criminal penalties above, Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393 imposes the possibility of license suspension for reckless driving offenses. Under this section, reckless driving offenders may face 60 days to six months of license suspension.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you need legal assistance with Virginia charges for reckless driving, it can be immensely beneficial to contact a reasonable Leesburg reckless driving attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP have experience defending against reckless driving and other criminal charges. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.