Virginia Police Arrest 2 For Drug Crimes At Car Wash
Virginia police arrested two people for drug crimes and weapon offenses at a car wash, according to an article by WYMT.
One person involved is a 54-year-old man from North Carolina. The other person involved is a 54-year-old woman from Ohio. When local police arrested these individuals, they also seized:
- Four ounces of methamphetamine (meth), which has a street value of approximately $5,000;
- One assault rifle; and
- Three handguns.
As a result of this incident, the man and woman in question both face Virginia criminal charges for:
- Distribution of a Schedule II controlled substance;
- Transportation of a Schedule II controlled substance; and
- Possession of a firearm and a Schedule II controlled substance.
While this legal case continues to develop, it seems like an appropriate moment to review the Virginia laws against and penalties for the criminal offenses in question.
Distribution of Controlled Substance
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-248 outlines the laws against distribution of controlled substances. This section makes it illegal to distribute, manufacture, sell, or give any controlled substance. This section also prohibits the possession of a controlled substance with intent to distribute, manufacture, sell, or give.
The punishment for a violation of Section 18.2-248 involving a Schedule I/II controlled substance is as follows:
- First Offense — Imprisonment for five to 40 years and criminal fines up to $500,000;
- Second Offense — Imprisonment for five years to life and criminal fines up to $500,000; or
- Third or Subsequent Offense — Imprisonment for 10 years to life and criminal fines up to $500,00.
Transportation of Controlled Substance
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-248.01 establishes the laws against transportation of controlled substances into Virginia. This section makes it unlawful to transport with intent to distribute:
- One ounce or more of cocaine or its derivative or preparation;
- One ounce or more of any Schedule I/II controlled substance; or
- Five pounds or more of cannabis.
The punishment for a violation of Section 18.2-248.01 is as follows:
- First Offense — Imprisonment for five to 40 years and criminal fines up to $1 million; or
- Second or Subsequent Offense — Imprisonment for 10 to 40 years and criminal fines up to $1 million.
Possession of Firearm & Controlled Substance
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-308.4 provides the laws against possession of firearms and certain controlled substances. This section prohibits any person from:
- Unlawfully possessing a Schedule I/II controlled substance; and
- Possessing any firearm with knowledge and intent.
Any person who violates Section 18.2-308.4 can face Class 6 felony charges, including imprisonment for one to five years and criminal fines up to $2,500.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you have legal questions about Virginia charges for a drug crime, it can be especially worthwhile to contact an experienced Leesburg drug crimes lawyer. The lawyers at Simms Showers LLP are available to help mount an effective criminal defense in various case settings, including drug crimes. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.