Virginia Reckless Driver Arrested in Florida
Florida police arrested a man from Chesapeake, Virginia on pending charges of reckless driving and several other offenses, according to an article by The Virginian-Pilot. This Virginia man allegedly drove a truck into a group of Oceanfront protestors back in May.
This arrest came on the heels of a warrant issued last week by the Virginia Beach General District Court. Apparently, the Virginia man failed to appear in court for his trial two times in a row. A judge issued a warrant to compel the Virginia man’s appearance in court.
After extradition back to Virginia, this man remains in police custody at the Columbia County Detention Center. Now that he is back in the state, legal proceedings will continue concerning the following charges:
- Abusive language;
- Disorderly conduct; and
- Reckless driving.
While this man waits for developments to happen in court, it feels like a proper occasion to review Virginia laws against abusive language, disorderly conduct, and reckless driving.
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-416 makes it unlawful to use abusive language around other people. In order for an act to qualify as a violation of this section, the alleged offender must also demonstrate an intention to disturb the peace.
Any person who uses abusive language in violation of Section 18.2-416 is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. The punishment for this class of misdemeanor is a maximum fine of $500.
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-415 makes it illegal to perform certain actions in public with the intent to create alarm, annoyance, or inconvenience. There are many different types of disorderly conduct, such as willfully disrupting school, funerals, or government meetings.
Any person who commits disorderly conduct in violation of Section 18.2-415 is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. The punishment for this class of misdemeanor is a maximum fine of $2,500 and up to 12 months in county jail.
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852 makes it unlawful to operate a vehicle in a way that creates a risk of personal injury or property damage. In addition to this general rule, Virginia law also prohibits specific acts of reckless driving, such as passing a stopped school bus, racing, driving without proper control, and passing at railroad crossings.
Any person who commits reckless driving in violation of Section 46.2-852 is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. The punishment can be the same as explained in the previous section. Reckless driving offenders also face mandatory driver’s license suspension for 10 days to six months.
Contact Us Today for Help
If you need legal help with Virginia charges for reckless driving, it can be decidedly productive to speak with a trusted criminal defense attorney. The Winchester reckless driving attorneys at Simms Showers LLP demonstrate the skill and experience needed to defend against many types of criminal charges. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.