Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Northstar Church and Nonprofit Video Conference and Business Webinar Recordings Here! Click Here to View!
Leesburg & Loudoun County Attorney
Call For a Consultation Today Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only 703-879-1364 Make a payment
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Hablamos Español
Sign Up for Our Newsletter!
Lawpay Payment Page

Virginia Man Guilty Of Reckless Driving By Speed In Loudoun County


A Loudoun County jury reached a guilty verdict in reckless driving, recommending the maximum fine allowable under Virginia law, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.

The underlying incident in this case occurred on November 28, 2020 at approximately 9:30 a.m. At that point, a deputy with the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office observed a vehicle traveling at high speed on Route 606. The deputy used a radar gun to measure the vehicle’s speed at 103 miles per hour, almost double the speed limit of 55 miles per hour in that zone.

As a result of this incident, local authorities charged a Virginia man with the Class 1 misdemeanor of excessive speeding, which is a version of reckless driving. At the conclusion of the criminal trial, a jury returned a guilty verdict. In addition, the jury recommended the maximum allowable for Class 1 misdemeanors in Virginia, which is $2,500.

In light of the aforementioned incident, it seems appropriate to review the Virginia laws against and penalties for reckless driving based on excessive speeding.

Excessive Speeding Under Virginia Law

The state laws against excessive speeding appear at Code of Virginia Section 46.2-862. Under this section, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle on any Virginia highway at a speed of:

  • At least 20 miles per hour above the legally posted speed limit; or
  • In excess of 85 miles per hour, regardless of the legally posted speed limit.

Any person who violates Section 46.2-862 will likely face criminal charges for reckless driving under Virginia law.

Virginia Penalties for Excessive Speeding

The state penalties for reckless driving — based on excessive speeding or otherwise — appear at Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868. Under this section, excessive speeding is usually charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Upon conviction for a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, the potential penalties include a maximum of $2,500 in criminal fines and 12 months in county jail. Reckless driving offenders may face up to 12 months of driver’s license suspension under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-396.

That being said, reckless driving based on excessive speeding can morph into a Class 6 felony. But the felony version only applies if the offender was driving on a suspended or revoked license and also caused the death of a victim.

Do You Need Legal Help?

If you have legal questions about Virginia charges for reckless driving, it can be extremely helpful to contact an accomplished Leesburg reckless driving attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP have the skill and knowledge necessary to defend against numerous criminal charges, including reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.






Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Contact the Leesburg, Winchester & Loudoun County Attorneys of Simms Showers LLP today

Simms Showers LLP is conveniently located two blocks from the Loudoun County Courthouse. Our criminal defense firm offers a free phone consultation for criminal or personal injury cases. Se habla español. Call Simms Showers LLP for quality legal counsel today at 703-997-7821 or contact us online.

I acknowledge that contacting Simms Showers LLP, through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.
Return To Top
x Which Newsletter are you intersted in? *