Virginia Man Charged With Rape In Loudoun County
A 23-year-old Virginia man faces felony charges for allegedly raping a teenage girl, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.
According to official reports, this incident occurred on June 12 in the 20000 block of Hawick Terrace in Sterling. The Virginia man allegedly connected with the teenage victim by promising to provide illegal access to alcohol and cannabis. After providing alcohol to the teenage victim, the Virginia man allegedly committed rape in his vehicle shortly thereafter.
After conducting an investigation into rape allegations from June 2021, the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office identified the Virginia man as a possible suspect. Sheriff’s deputies then arrested the Virginia man on July 1st.
Local authorities have charged the Virginia man with rape and several other criminal offenses. Though legal proceedings are pending, the Virginia man secured a $5,000 bond on July 7 and was subsequently released from police custody.
While the legal case develops in this matter, it seems appropriate to review the Virginia laws against and penalties for rape.
Virginia Definition of Rape
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-57 establishes the definition of rape. According to this statute, it is illegal to engage in sexual intercourse with a victim if:
- The perpetrator uses force, threat, or intimidation to complete the act against the victim’s will;
- The perpetrator leverages the victim’s mental incapacity or physical helplessness; or
- The victim is a child under the age of 13 years old.
There is an important consideration to highlight in this context. It does not matter if the perpetrator was married to the victim at the time of the offense. Stated otherwise, a spouse can face charges for rape, if they violate any of the conditions above.
Virginia Punishment for Rape
Section 18.2-61 also furnishes the Virginia punishment for rape. According to this statute, the penalty for rape is imprisonment for a minimum of five years and a maximum of life.
That being said, the mandatory minimum confinement period for rape can fluctuate under specific circumstances. For example, there can be a mandatory minimum of 25 years in prison. This adjusted sentence applies if:
- The victim is a child under the age of 13 years;
- The perpetrator is at least three years older than the victim; and
- The perpetrator committed rape while also committing, or attempting to commit, abduction, burglary, or breaking and entering.
On a related note, the mandatory minimum confinement period can become even more severe. Rape can result in a mandatory minimum of life in prison if:
- The victim is a child under the age of 13 years old; and
- The perpetrator is at least 18 years old.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you have legal questions about any violation of Virginia law, contact a skilled Leesburg criminal defense lawyer. The lawyers at Simms Showers LLP are prepared to help you today.