Reckless Driving & License Suspension in Virginia
In the interest of public welfare and safety, the Commonwealth of Virginia prohibits reckless driving that endangers people or property. Any person who drives recklessly in Virginia can face criminal charges ranging from misdemeanor to felony. In the worst-case scenario, reckless driving can lead to hefty criminal fines and even incarceration.
In addition to the standard criminal penalties for reckless driving, Virginia also mandates a period of driver’s license suspension. But the length of suspension varies based on the circumstances of the offense.
License Suspension for Reckless Driving Generally
For reckless driving offenses, generally, Code of Virginia Section 46.2-392 provides for a mandatory period of driver’s license suspension. The threshold period of driver’s license suspension for reckless driving offenses ranges from 10 days to six months. This suspension period under Section 46.2-392 can apply to any type of reckless driving offense in Virginia.
Additionally, Section 46.2-392 addresses reckless driving offenses that also involve the presence of alcohol or drugs. In these cases, a Virginia court may require the driver to complete a substance abuse education program. Furthermore, the court will not reinstate driving privileges until the offender completes their educational course.
License Suspension for Specific Reckless Driving Offenses
When a person engages in certain reckless driving offenses, there are specific rules governing driver’s license suspension under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393.
If a driver violates any of the reckless driving rules within the code, they will face a mandatory period of driver’s license suspension. For the offenses above, the driver’s license suspension period ranges from 60 days to six months.
License Suspension for Reckless Driving Fatalities
When reckless driving results in one or more fatalities, there are separate driver’s license suspension rules under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-396. These rules apply when a driver causes the death of another person by engaging in reckless driving, as defined in Sections 46.2-853 through 46.2-864. In these cases, the driver’s license suspension period can last for up to 12 months.
Let Us Help You Today
If you are facing driver’s license suspension for a reckless driving offense in Virginia, it is beneficial to reach out to a reliable criminal defense attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP have skill and experience handling reckless driving cases and other facets of criminal defense. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.