Winchester Felony & Misdemeanor Attorneys
There are generally two categories of crimes: felonies and misdemeanors. A felony is a much more serious offense than a misdemeanor, and depending on the offense you may face serious prison time, trouble finding work in the future with a criminal record, a loss of your right to vote, and other lost liberties. While a felony is the highest level of offense, a misdemeanor can be a huge stress on your family, career, and status within your community. Misdemeanor crimes can still be punished by jail time, large fines, and hundreds of hours of community service. Whether you have been charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, your best option for minimizing the penalties you face or having the charges dismissed is to consult with an experienced Winchester attorney as soon as possible. Contact our Winchester felony and misdemeanor defense attorneys of Simms Showers LLP today. We have experience defending as well as prosecuting, which gives us an upper hand when it comes to fighting for your rights and putting for the best defense possible.
Classes of Felony Charges in Virginia
Felony offenses in Virginia face very strict punishments. The following describes the class and the coinciding penalty, according to Virginia statutes 18.2-10.
- Class 1 felonies: if the convicted person was 18 years or older at the time of the offense, they face the death penalty or life in prison. The maximum fine is $100,000;
- Class 2 felonies: life in prison or a term not less than 20 years. The maximum fine is $100,000;
- Class 3 felonies: not less than five and not more than 20 years in prison, with a maximum fine of $100,000;
- Class 4 felonies: not less than two years and not more than 10 years in prison, with a maximum fine of $100,000;
- Class 5 felonies: not less than one year and not more than 10 years in prison. Or, not more than 12 months in jail at the court’s discretion. The maximum fine is $2,500; and
- Class 6 felonies: not less than one year and not more than five years in prison. Or, not more than or not more than 12 months in jail. The maximum fine is $2,500.
Classes of Misdemeanor Charges in Virginia
As per Virginia statutes 18.2-11, the following penalties coincide with each misdemeanor class.
- Class 1 misdemeanor: up to 12 months in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500;
- Class 2 misdemeanor: up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000;
- Class 3 misdemeanor: maximum fine of $500; and
- Class 3 misdemeanor: maximum fine of $250.
No matter the offense you have been charged with, we have the experience, resources, and knowledge to help you beat the charges. Contact one of our Winchester misdemeanor and felony defense attorneys today.