Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Leesburg, Winchester & Manassas Attorneys
CALL FOR A CONSULTATION TODAY Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only
Loudoun County Attorneys > Blog > Criminal Defense > Intoxicated Reckless Driver Eludes Police with Baby in Car

Intoxicated Reckless Driver Eludes Police with Baby in Car


A Virginia man faces reckless driving and other criminal charges after driving drunk and eluding police in a high-speed chase in Newport News, reported CBS affiliate WAVY. In the process, the man also endangered the lives of his wife and infant child, as they were passengers in his vehicle.

This traffic incident began at approximately 9 p.m. on Tuesday, October 23rd. That is when police officers observed the Virginia man speeding aggressively on J. Clyde Morris Boulevard. When the officers attempted to execute a traffic stop, the Virginia man veered onto Interstate 64. After striking a guardrail and running a red light, police officers finally arrested the Virginia man near the intersection of Jefferson Avenue and Campsite Drive.

At this point, the Virginia man faces criminal charges for reckless driving over 80 miles per hour, first-offense driving under the influence (DUI) and eluding police. While the man awaits his day in court, it seems like an opportune time to review the Virginia penalties for reckless driving, DUI, and eluding police.

What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia?

Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 outlines the penalties for reckless driving. In most cases, this offense constitutes a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. The usual penalties for a Class 1 misdemeanor include up to 12 months in jail and $2,500 in criminal fines.

Though in certain cases involving fatalities, reckless driving can become a Class 6 felony. At that level, the usual penalties for a Class 6 felony include one to five years in prison and $2,500 in criminal fines.

What are the Penalties for a First-Offense DUI in Virginia?

Code of Virginia Section 46.2-270 details the penalties for a first-offense DUI in Virginia. This offense is normally a Class 1 misdemeanor, featuring the same criminal penalties as outlined in the previous section. If a person commits multiple DUIs — or registers a high level of blood-alcohol concentration — the penalties can become much more severe.

What are the Penalties for Eluding Police in Virginia?

Code of Virginia Section 46.2-817 provides a breakdown of penalties for eluding police. In minor situations, eluding police is a Class 2 misdemeanor in Virginia. The typical penalties for a Class 2 misdemeanor include up to six months in jail and $1,000 in criminal fines.

If the offender displays reckless and careless behavior when eluding police, however, the charges escalate to a Class 6 felony. And if a police officer is killed as a result of this offense, it becomes a Class 4 felony. At that level, the typical penalties include two to 10 years in prison and up to $100,000 in criminal fines.

Contact Us Today for Help

If you have legal questions about reckless driving in Virginia, it is useful to speak with a skilled criminal defense attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP understand how to defend against reckless driving charges in Virginia. If you need legal help with reckless driving or other aspects of criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.



Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
MileMark Media

© 2023 - 2024 Simms Showers, LLP. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.

x Which Newsletter are you interested in? *