What Happens If I’m Charged With Reckless Driving In Virginia?
Reckless driving can come in many shapes and sizes in Virginia. Though there is a general definition under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852. This offense occurs when a driver operates a vehicle in a reckless or dangerous fashion — thereby creating a risk of property damage, physical injury, or death. But Virginia law does provide for other, more specific versions of reckless driving as well.
If charged for reckless driving in Virginia, the criminal consequences can be extremely serious. From criminal fines to a jail or prison sentence and license suspension, a conviction for reckless driving can have a lasting impact on a person’s life.
- Criminal Fines for Reckless Driving in Virginia
Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868, standard reckless driving offenses are usually charged as Class 1 misdemeanors. The maximum fine for a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia is $2,500.
Under Section 46.2-868, reckless driving offenses that caused a fatality are typically charged as Class 6 felonies. The maximum fine for a Class 6 felony in Virginia is $2,500.
In addition, reckless driving can lead to a mandatory minimum fine of $250. But this mandatory fine only applies if the offender was distracted by a device at the same time, in violation of Code of Virginia Section 46.2-818.2.
- Jail or Prison for Reckless Driving in Virginia
Under Section 46.2-868, the Class 1 misdemeanor version of reckless driving can lead to confinement in jail. The maximum jail sentence for a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia is one year.
Under Section 46.2-868, the Class 6 felony version of reckless driving can lead to imprisonment. The maximum prison sentence for a Class 6 felony in Virginia is five years.
- License Suspension for Reckless Driving in Virginia
Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-392, standard reckless driving offenses can result in 10 days to six months of driver’s license suspension. But this suspension period is discretionary. The Virginia courts are not required to order license suspension in every reckless driving case.
Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-396, reckless driving offenses that caused a fatality can result in 12 months of driver’s license suspension. But as with standard offenses discussed above, the Virginia courts are not required to suspend the license of a reckless driver.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you need legal assistance with reckless driving charges in Virginia, it can be highly productive to speak with a seasoned Leesburg reckless driving attorney. With demonstrated experience in criminal defense, the attorneys at Simms Showers LLP can help you fight back against reckless driving charges. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.