Virginian Man Charged with Reckless Driving & Eluding Police in Leesburg
Law enforcement officers arrested a 23-year-old Virginian man for reckless driving and eluding police after a brief chase in Leesburg, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.
The incident occurred in the morning of Friday, June 19th,when Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office deputies allegedly saw the Virginian man blast through several red lights and execute illegal U-turns. When the deputies attempted to execute a traffic stop, the Virginian man tried to speed off and escape.
However, the deputies caught up to the Virginian man, pulled him over, and executed an arrest. At this point, the Virginian man remains at the Loudoun County Adult Detention Center on charges of eluding police and reckless driving. While he awaits further developments, it seems like an opportune moment to review several Virginia statutes.
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-817 provides the state laws against and penalties for eluding police. More specifically, this section requires all drivers to obey all signals and commands from law enforcement officers, whether delivered visually or audibly.
Any person who violates Section 46.2-817 is normally guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. If convicted, the offender can face a maximum punishment of six months in county jail and $2,500 in criminal fines.
In certain circumstances, however, eluding police can become a felony offense. If a law enforcement officer dies as a result of the offense, for example, the offender will likely face Class 4 felony charges. If convicted, the offender can face a maximum punishment of 10 years in prison and $100,000 in criminal fines.
In addition to the criminal penalties above, Section 46.2-817 also includes mandatory driver’s license suspension. Any person convicted of eluding police typically loses their driving privileges for a period of 30 days to one year.
On the other hand, if there is evidence that the driver exceeded the speed limit by at least 20 miles per hour, then the mandatory minimum period of driver’s license suspension is 90 days.
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852 establishes the general rule against reckless driving. Under this section, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in a way that endangers other people or property.
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 details the punishment for reckless driving offenses. Any person who commits reckless driving is ordinarily guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, the offender can face a maximum punishment of 12 months in county jail and $2,500 in criminal fines.
However, there are extraordinary situations where reckless driving is a Class 6 felony. This elevated charge applies when a reckless driver operates a vehicle without a license and causes the death of someone else. If convicted for a Class 6 felony, the maximum punishment includes five years in prison and $2,500 in criminal fines.
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-392 also institutes the requirement of license suspension for reckless driving offenses. Under this section, reckless driving usually results in a license suspension period of 10 days to six months.
Let Us Help You Today
If you have legal questions about Virginia charges for eluding police or reckless driving, it can be distinctly helpful to contact a dependable criminal defense attorney. The Leesburg reckless driving attorneys at Simms Showers LLP feature demonstrated experience with many facets of criminal defense, such as eluding police or reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.