Virginia Wife Runs Over Husband with Minivan
A Virginia wife faces charges of reckless driving and other crimes, after she ran over her husband with the family minivan in Madison Heights, Virginia, according to an article by WCYB.
The incident in question escalated after a disagreement between the husband and wife in a parking lot. The argument ended when the wife hopped into the family minivan and ran over her husband. The couple’s children were still in the minivan at the time.
As a result of this incident, the husband sustained severe injuries. First responders rushed the husband to UVA Hospital for treatment.
As a result of her actions, the Virginia wife faces a number of criminal charges, including reckless driving, domestic violence, and malicious intent to cause bodily harm. We discuss the parameters of each of the above-mentioned crimes in the following sections.
Reckless Driving in Virginia
Under Code of Virginia 46.2-852, reckless driving involves careless and dangerous driving behavior. If a person drives a motor vehicle in a manner that endangers other people or property, then it is reckless driving.
At the very minimum, reckless driving in Virginia constitutes a Class 1 misdemeanor. At that level, the penalties can include jail time up to 12 months and fines up to $2,500.
Domestic Violence in Virginia
Under Code of Virginia 18.2-57.2, domestic violence is referred to legally as assault and battery against a family or household member. Essentially, Virginia establishes separate considerations for assault and battery that occurs against a family member. Stated otherwise, if the perpetrator threatens or harms a member of their own family, it rises to the level of domestic violence.
Domestic violence in Virginia is ordinarily a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties can include jail time up to 12 months and fines up to $2,500.
Malicious Intent to Cause Bodily Harm in Virginia
Under Code of Virginia 18.2-57.2, malicious intent to cause bodily harm is often referred to as malicious wounding. Under the law, it is illegal to injure another person with the intention of disfiguring, maiming, or killing that person.
Malicious wounding Virginia constitutes a Class 3 felony. The penalties include jail time of five to 20 years and fines up to $100,000.
Contact Us Today for Help
Whether you are dealing with reckless driving, assault and battery, or other crimes, the pressure can become overwhelming. A criminal defense attorney at Simms Showers LLP can assist you throughout each step of your case.