Virginia Teenager Faces Reckless Driving Charges After Fleeing Police
A Virginia teenager faces charges for reckless driving and other offenses after attempting to flee law enforcement in Loudoun County, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.
This incident occurred on December 26th at approximately 1 a.m. in Round Hill. That is when deputies from the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office attempted to conduct a traffic stop near the intersection of Route 7 and East Loudoun Street.
The teenager driver ignored commands from the deputies and tried to drive away. After a brief pursuit, the deputies were able to stop and apprehend the teenager driver. As a result of this incident, this Virginia teenager faces criminal charges for:
- Reckless driving;
- Eluding police;
- Driving without a license; and
- Providing false ID to police.
In the present case, the alleged offender is an underage minor. Therefore, he will face special sentencing considerations as a juvenile offender. But if the offender was an adult, they could face the following statutory penalties under Virginia law.
Virginia Penalties for Reckless Driving
Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868, reckless driving is usually a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted for this class of misdemeanor, the offender ordinarily faces a maximum punishment of 12 months in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Furthermore, any person convicted for reckless driving will have their driver’s license suspended under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-392. Depending on the circumstances of the case, the suspension period can be between 10 days and six months.
Virginia Penalties for Eluding Police
Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-817, eluding police is usually a Class 2 misdemeanor. If convicted for this class of misdemeanor, the offender ordinarily faces a maximum punishment of six months in jail and $1,000 in fines.
In addition, any person convicted for eluding police will also experience a mandatory period of driver’s license suspension. The applicable suspension period can be between 30 days and one year.
Virginia Penalties for Driving Without a License
Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-300, driving without a valid license is usually a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent offense qualifies as a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted for either class of misdemeanor, the offender will face the same maximum punishment scheme described previously.
Moreover, any person convicted of driving without a license will also have their driving privileges suspended. The applicable suspension period has an upper limit of 90 days for this offense.
Virginia Penalties for Providing False ID
Under Code of Virginia Section 19.2-82.1, driving without a valid license is usually a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted for this class of misdemeanor, the offender will face the same maximum punishment scheme described previously.
Contact Us Today for Help
If you have legal questions about charges for reckless driving, eluding police, or other offenses in Virginia, it can be distinctly beneficial to contact a seasoned Leesburg criminal defense attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP feature widespread experience with various criminal charges, including reckless driving and eluding police. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.