Virginia Man Faces Charges for DUI, Hit and Run & Obstruction of Justice
An Eastville, Virginia, man is on trial for DUI as well as hit and run after a car accident that left one passenger injured, according to an article by U.S. News & World Report. The Eastville man’s father and sister also face charges for obstruction of justice after lying to police.
Police arrived at the scene of the accident to find a damaged vehicle. But there was no sign of the driver or passenger. After examining the vehicle registration, police tried to contact the Eastville man. But the man’s father and sister ran interference, claiming that the vehicle was stolen. Police eventually pieced together the puzzle, charging the Eastville man as well as his father and sister.
Virginia DUI Laws
As detailed in Code of Virginia 18.2-266, it is unlawful to drive a car or operate other vehicles while intoxicated. Intoxication in Virginia can be the result consumption of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both. In terms of drinking, the legal limit for intoxication is a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08.
Virginia DUI Penalties
Virginia penalties for DUI crimes are based on a tiered scheme. A single DUI conviction can lead to driver’s license suspension for 12 months and up to $250 in fines. A second DUI conviction can lead to jail time of 12 months, driver’s license suspension for 36 months, and up to $500 in fines.
Virginia Hit and Run Laws
As highlighted in Code of Virginia 46.2-894, drivers have a responsibility to stop and report all car accidents that involve injury or property damage. After a qualifying accident, Virginia drivers must report their full name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number.
Virginia Hit and Run Penalties
Virginia penalties for hit and run crimes change based on the type of harm inflicted. If a hit and run crime leads to personal injury or death, then the driver may face 10 years in jail and up to $2,500 in fines. The same penalties apply to hit and runs that lead to property damage in excess of $1,000. If a hit and run crime results in less than $1,000 in property damage, then the driver may face 12 months in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
Virginia Obstruction of Justice Laws
As highlighted in Code of Virginia 18.2-460, citizens must comply with and provide accurate information to law enforcement officers and other government officials. Obstruction of justice applies to any person who deliberately lies or misrepresents the truth during an official investigation.
Any person who knowingly and willfully makes any materially false statement or representation to a law-enforcement officer or an animal control officer employed pursuant to § 3.2-6555 who is in the course of conducting an investigation of a crime by another is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Virginia Obstruction of Justice Penalties
Virginia penalties for obstruction of justice crimes include 12 months in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
Contact US Today
If you are dealing with charges for DUI, hit and run, or other criminal offenses, it is important to speak with a trusted criminal defense lawyer. Don’t hesitate to reach out to Simms Showers LLP for help, servicing Leesburg, Winchester, Fairfax, and Manassas.