Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Northstar Church and Nonprofit Video Conference and Business Webinar Recordings Here! Click Here to View!
Leesburg & Loudoun County Attorney
Call For a Consultation Today Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only 703-879-1364 Make a payment
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Hablamos Español
Sign Up for Our Newsletter!
Lawpay Payment Page

Virginia DUI Crash in Sterling Leads to Multiple Criminal Charges

DUI8

Law enforcement arrested and charged a Virginia man for driving under the influence (DUI) and several other crimes, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.

The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office responded to this incident on Friday, April 24th near the 100 block of Williamsburg Road in Sterling. Just before 10 p.m., the Virginia man allegedly lost control of his vehicle and crashed into two parked cars without occupants.

As a result of this incident, the Virginia man faces criminal charges for providing false identification to law enforcement, driving without a license, and DUI.

While the legal process plays out for the Virginia man, it seems like an opportune moment to review the Virginia penalties for driving without a license, providing false identification to law enforcement, and DUI.

What are the Virginia Penalties for Providing False Identification?

The penalties for providing false identification to law enforcement appear under Code of Virginia Section 19.2-82.1. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, the offender can face a maximum of 12 months in county jail and up to $2,500 in fines.

What are the Virginia Penalties for Driving Without a License?

The penalties for driving without a license appear under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-300. Any person who violates this section the first time is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. If convicted, the offender can face a maximum of six months in county jail and up to $1,000 in fines.

Any person who violates this section a second or subsequent time is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, the offender can face the maximum sentence described in the previous section.

Furthermore, any person who violates Section 46.2-300 also faces mandatory suspension of driving privileges. The suspension period has an upper limit of 90 days.

What are the Virginia Penalties for DUI?

The penalties for DUI appear under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270. The Virginia penalty scheme for DUI offenses is as follows:

  • First Offense — Class 1 misdemeanor with a mandatory minimum of $250 in fines and, in certain cases, five to 10 days in jail;
  • Second Offense — Class 1 misdemeanor with a mandatory minimum of $500 in fines and 10 to 20 days in jail;
  • Third Offense — Class 6 felony with a mandatory minimum of $1,000 in fines and 90 days to six months in prison; or
  • Fourth or Subsequent Offense — Class 6 felony with a mandatory minimum of $1,000 in fines and 12 months in prison.

Additionally, any person who commits DUI also faces mandatory suspension of driving privileges under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-271. First-time offenders face up to 12 months of driver’s license suspension. Second-time offenders face up to 36 months.

If a person commits three or more DUIs within a 10-year period, they will face mandatory revocation of driving privileges. This revocation is permanent. It is not guaranteed that a person can reinstate a revoked driver’s license.

Let Us Help You Today

If you need legal help with charges for DUI or other criminal offenses in Virginia, it can be exceedingly constructive to consult with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney. The Virginia DUI defense attorneys at Simms Showers LLP have the knowledge and skill needed to defend clients against many types of criminal charges, including DUI. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.

Resource:

loudountimes.com/news/ashburn-man-charged-with-dwi-after-reportedly-crashing-into-two-parked-cars/article_ccf0868c-88c9-11ea-9885-e3424aff970e.html

https://www.simmsshowerslaw.com/what-are-the-virginia-penalties-for-minors-who-commit-dui/

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Contact the Leesburg, Winchester & Loudoun County Attorneys of Simms Showers LLP today

Simms Showers LLP is conveniently located two blocks from the Loudoun County Courthouse. Our criminal defense firm offers a free phone consultation for criminal or personal injury cases. Se habla español. Call Simms Showers LLP for quality legal counsel today at 703-997-7821 or contact us online.

I acknowledge that contacting Simms Showers LLP, through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.
Return To Top
x Which Newsletter are you intersted in? *