Two Virginia Drivers Charged for Reckless Driving in Fatal Accident
Two Virginia drivers now face criminal charges for reckless driving after causing an auto accident that killed two people, according to an article by WTOP.
This traffic accident occurred on August 24th at approximately 11 a.m. on Interstate 66. The resulting crash — which occurred on the westbound lanes near exit 53 — ended with six people in the hospital and 11 hours of traffic disruption during investigation by law enforcement.
Overall, there were eight vehicles involved in this chain-reaction incident, including five sedans, one SUV, one pickup truck, and one tractor-trailer. This accident began when a BMW traveling westbound struck the rear end of another vehicle. The force of the collision carried the BMW into the tractor-trailer.
The tractor-trailer subsequently struck several vehicles, including the SUV, before flipping over. The crash forced the SUV off the right side of the highway and over the wall. The SUV ultimately caught fire as a result of this crash.
One man died at the scene of the accident. His 28-year-old wife, who was traveling in the same vehicle, sustained severe physical injuries. After transport to a nearby hospital, the wife is still receiving treatment for life-threatening injuries.
At this point, the authorities have charged both drivers of the BMW and the tractor-trailer with reckless driving. While their respective legal cases play out in court, it seems like an appropriate opportunity to review Virginia laws against and penalties for reckless driving.
What is the Virginia Definition of Reckless Driving?
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 demonstrates the definition of reckless driving. Under this section, reckless driving occurs whenever a person drives:
- In a reckless or dangerous manner on any state highway;
- At a speed that puts other people or property in peril; or
- In a manner that puts other people or property in peril.
Any person who commits reckless driving in violation of Section 26.2-868 is potentially subject to the criminal punishment outlined in the following section.
What is Virginia Punishment for Reckless Driving?
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 governs the criminal punishment for reckless driving offenses. Under this section, reckless driving is normally classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction for this class of misdemeanor typically results in a maximum sentence of 12 months in county jail and $2,500 in fines.
On the other hand, extreme circumstances can elevate reckless driving to the level of a Class 6 felony. A conviction for this class of felony ordinarily leads to a maximum sentence of five years in prison and $2,500 in fines.
Let Us Help You Today
If you need legal help with Virginia charges for reckless driving, it can be decidedly valuable to consult with an accomplished criminal defense attorney. The Winchester reckless driving attorneys at Simms Showers LLP feature validated accomplishments with reckless driving cases and other aspects of criminal defense across Virginia. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.