Reckless Driving Penalties in Virginia
Reckless driving is a crime in Virginia and can come with many different penalties depending on the circumstances and severity. A reckless driving charge can come from something as simple as going 20 miles over the speed limit or driving over 80 miles an hour. A driver can also be charged with reckless driving for racing, driving too fast for the road conditions, passing an emergency vehicle with its lights on, or many other driving violations. This article gives an overview of the potential consequences for reckless driving. Keep in mind that the specific penalties will vary based on the evidence. However, no matter what it is crucial to have a knowledgeable reckless driving attorney on your side to defend you.
The maximum fine for reckless driving is $2,500. For people who were also caught using a cell phone at the time they committed the offense that led to them being charged with reckless driving there is a minimum fine of $250.
You may also be responsible for court costs.
If you are convicted of reckless driving you may also have your license suspended. Reckless driving carries a penalty of up to six months of a suspended license. Sometimes if your license is suspended the judge will grant you a conditional license that can allow you to drive to work or school.
Reckless driving is a crime in Virginia and you can end up facing jail time. Most reckless driving violations are a Class 1 misdemeanor. If you are found guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor you can be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail.
It is not common for drivers to get jail time for standard reckless driving. However, in some extreme cases, such as being caught driving over 100 miles an hour, a judge may include jail time in your sentence.
However, if someone’s reckless driving is the sole cause of the death of another and if the person is driving without a valid license, he or she can be charged with a Class 6 felony. A Class 6 felony can come with one to five years of imprisonment.
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles has a point system for drivers and a conviction for reckless driving will add six points to your license. These 6 points will stay on your license for 11 years. If you get a certain amount of points in a specific period of time, then your license can be suspended. For drivers 18 and over your license will be suspended for 90 days if you accumulate 18 points in 12 months, or 24 points in 24 months.
Leesburg Virginia Reckless Driving Attorneys
In addition to the penalties above, a reckless driving conviction may also affect your insurance premiums and employment. If you are charged with reckless driving you need to have a skilled attorney on your side to represent you in court. The reckless driving attorneys at Simms Showers, LLP can assist you with your reckless driving charges and any other criminal or traffic charges that you may be facing in Leesburg, Manassas or anywhere in northern Virginia.