Virginia Reckless Driving Charges For Truck Driver After Striking Fire Engine
A truck driver faces charges in Virginia for reckless driving after allegedly crashing into a fire engine and causing several injuries, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.
This incident occurred at approximately 6 a.m. on Tuesday, April 14. Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office responded to reports of an accident at the intersection of Stumptown Road and Route 15.
Official reports stated that the fire engine stopped at the intersection to allow traffic to clear. As the firefighters proceeded into the intersection, the truck driver was unable to stop and crashed into the fire engine.
As a result of this incident, three Loudoun County firefighters and the truck driver sustained injuries and received medical treatment. All injuries in question were apparently minor.
Based on available evidence, the authorities elected to charge the truck driver with failure to maintain control, which is a type of reckless driving under Virginia law. While the legal process plays out in this case, it might be appropriate to review several reckless driving statutes in Virginia.
Virginia Laws Against Reckless Driving
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852 provides the state laws against reckless driving. When someone operates a vehicle in a way that puts other people or property in danger, it qualifies as reckless driving in Virginia.
On top of this general prohibition against reckless driving, Virginia also classifies specific actions as reckless driving, including failure to maintain control.
Virginia Laws Against Failure to Maintain Control
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-853 furnishes the state laws against failure to maintain control. This type of reckless driving applies when someone operates a vehicle without proper control. This type of reckless driving also applies when a person operates a vehicle with inadequate or improperly adjusted brakes. In either case, a person who violates this section will likely face Virginia criminal charges for reckless driving.
Virginia Penalties for Reckless Driving
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 establishes the penalties for reckless driving, which includes failure to maintain control. Under this section, reckless driving is normally a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted for a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, the penalties can include an upper limit of 12 months in jail and $2,500 in criminal fines.
In addition, reckless driving offenders are typically subject to driver’s license suspension under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393. Under this section, the suspension period for reckless driving normally lasts between 60 days and six months.
Contact Us Today for Help
If you need legal assistance with criminal charges for reckless driving or other offenses under Virginia law, contact the Leesburg criminal defense attorneys at Simms Showers LLP. We can assist you throughout each step of your case.