Virginia Man Faces Criminal Charges After Fleeing Car Accident with Baby
A man from Spotsylvania, Virginia, was charged for reckless driving, felony hit and run, as well as a litany of other crimes charges after crashing his car and fleeing with an infant child, according to an article by The Free Lance-Star.
This incident occurred on December 24th at approximately 1:30 p.m. near Gordon Road in Fredericksburg, Virginia. At that time, the Spotsylvania man crashed into two other cars. Then the man took off on foot with a nine-month-old baby in his arms.
Authorities caught up to the Spotsylvania man, recovering the baby and a nine-year-old child who remained in the car. Authorities arrested the man and returned the children to their mother.
Overall, the Spotsylvania man faces a total of 14 criminal charges in Virginia, including:
- Child endangerment (two counts);
- Child neglect (two counts);
- Possession of marijuana;
- Distribution of marijuana;
- Possession of a controlled substance;
- Distribution of a controlled substance;
- Possession of ammunition (by a convicted felon);
- Operating an uninsured vehicle;
- Driving on a suspended license;
- Resisting arrest;
- Felony hit and run; and
- Reckless driving.
In order to grasp the severity of the criminal charges listed above, the following sections will outline the Virginia penalties for reckless driving as well as felony hit and run.
What are the Virginia Penalties for Reckless Driving?
The penalties for reckless driving in Virginia fluctuate based on the circumstances of the crime. For less serious offenses, reckless driving constitutes a Class 1 misdemeanor. The Virginia penalties for a Class 1 misdemeanor include up to one year in county jail and $2,500 in fines.
If reckless driving on a suspended license leads to the death of another person, then the crime can rise to the level of Class 6 felony. The Virginia penalties for a Class 6 felony include up to five years in prison and $2,500 in fines.
What are the Virginia Penalties for Hit and Run?
The penalties for felony hit and run in Virginia can change based on the damage caused. There are different penalty structures for property damage as opposed to harm caused to other people.
- When a hit-and-run crime causes harm to another person, including death, the penalties can include up to 10 years in jail and $2,500 in fines;
- When a hit-and-run crime causes more than $1,000 in property damage, the penalties can include up to 10 years in jail and $2,500 in fines; and
- When a hit-and-run crime causes less than $1,000 in property damage, the penalties can include up to one year in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Contact Us for Assistance
If you are facing charges for reckless driving, hit and run or other crimes, the combination of fines and jail time can be devastating. To protect your rights and reputation, it can be valuable to retain the services of an accomplished criminal defense lawyer. Don’t hesitate to reach out to Simms Showers LLP for help, servicing Leesburg, Winchester, Fairfax, and Manassas.