Reckless Driving Injures Virginia State Police Officer
A Virginia man faces reckless driving charges after allegedly crashing into and injuring a state trooper on Interstate 664, according to an article by 13News Now.
This incident occurred on June 10 at approximately 8 a.m. At that point, a Virginia State Trooper was traveling on I-664 and stopped to assist a vehicle. While the trooper awaited further assistance, the Virginia man allegedly crashed into the trooper’s patrol car and the other vehicle. The Virginia man and the state trooper both sustained non-life-threatening injuries.
While this matter continues to evolve in legal circles, it seems like an appropriate opportunity to review the Virginia laws against and penalties for reckless driving.
Virginia Laws Against Reckless Driving
The laws against reckless driving appear under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852. This section prohibits any driver from operating their vehicle in dangerous fashion. If a driver creates a risk of property damage, physical injury, or death, it can qualify as reckless driving in Virginia.
On top of the general definition above, other versions of reckless driving in Virginia include but are not limited to:
- Driving a vehicle with faulty brakes or improper control (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-853);
- Passing other vehicles on curves or crests of grades (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-853); and
- Driving at excessive or unreasonable speeds (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-862).
Virginia Penalties for Reckless Driving
The penalties for reckless driving appear under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868. At a threshold level, reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor. Upon conviction for a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, the penalties can include criminal fines up to $2,500 and a jail sentence of up to 12 months.
On the other hand, reckless driving can become a Class 6 felony. But the felony version is reserved for situations where the offender:
- Committed reckless driving while their license was suspended or revoked for a moving violation; and
- Caused the death of a victim as a sole and proximate result of reckless driving.
Upon conviction for a Class 6 felony in Virginia, the penalties can include criminal fines up to $2,500 and a prison sentence between one and five years.
On a related note, reckless driving offenders can lose their driving privileges for 10 days to six months. Though driver’s license suspension for reckless driving is subject to the court’s discretion.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you have legal questions about Virginia charges for reckless driving, it can be demonstrably valuable to contact an experienced Leesburg reckless driving attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP feature proven capabilities in criminal defense, including reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.