Truck Driver Faces Virginia Reckless Driving Charges After Deadly Accident
A Virginia truck driver faces criminal charges for reckless driving after causing a fatal accident in Surry County, according to an article by CBS affiliate WTKR.
This truck accident occurred at approximately 4 p.m. on Tuesday, October 29th. At that time, the truck driver was heading east on Colonial Trail (Route 10), just west of Bacon’s Castle Trail (Route 617). The truck driver lost control of his tractor-trailer, drifted into the westbound lanes, and then smashed into the driver’s side of a passenger sedan.
The 40-year-old male driver of the passenger sedan died immediately from the impact of the crash. The truck driver managed to escape the accident without any reported injuries. Law enforcement reports did not indicate any other people sustained harm or injury as a result of this accident.
The Virginia State Police Chesapeake Division Crash Reconstruction Team continues to investigate this accident. But the truck driver already faces reckless driving charges for failing to maintain proper control of his tractor-trailer.
While the truck driver awaits the next steps in his legal case, it seems like a suitable occasion to review Virginia reckless driving laws and penalties for failure to maintain control.
What is the Definition of Failure to Maintain Control?
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-853 outlines the requirement for maintaining proper control of motor vehicles. To avoid placing other people or property in danger, this section requires all drivers to:
- Maintain proper control of their vehicle;
- Install adequate brakes on their vehicle; and
- Ensure the vehicle’s brakes are properly calibrated.
Any person who disregards the requirements of Section 46.2-853 on Virginia roadways or highways is guilty of reckless driving. A conviction for reckless driving can result in the criminal penalties described in the next section.
What are the Penalties for Failure to Maintain Control?
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 provides the penalty structure for reckless driving offenses, including failure to maintain control. Under this section, reckless driving is typically a Class 1 misdemeanor. Upon conviction for this misdemeanor, the reckless driving offender can face 12 months in jail, up to $2,500 in criminal fines, and driver’s license suspension.
However, reckless driving can become a Class 6 felony under specific circumstances. The felony version of this offense applies whenever a driver:
- Commits reckless driving on a suspended or revoked driver’s license; and
- Causes the death of another person.
Upon conviction for this felony, the reckless driving offender can face one to five years in prison, up to $2,500 in criminal fines, and driver’s license suspension.
Let Us Help You Today
If you need legal help with Virginia charges for reckless driving, it can be distinctly beneficial to speak with a trustworthy criminal defense attorney. The Winchester reckless driving attorneys at Simms Showers LLP feature established proficiencies in the field of criminal defense, including reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.