Truck Driver Charged with Reckless Driving After Fatal Crash in Virginia
A Tennessee truck driver faces criminal charges for reckless driving after causing two fatalities in Roanoke County, according to an article by ABC affiliate WSET.
This truck accident occurred on Wednesday, October 2nd, on Interstate 81 near mile marker 134. At approximately 6 p.m., the truck driver was operating a tractor-trailer on the northbound side of the highway. Then the truck driver smashed into two passenger vehicles and another tractor-trailer finally.
As a result of this accident, both of the drivers in the passenger vehicles sustained severe physical injuries. First responders transported both to nearby hospitals. But they later died from their respective injuries.
Although the Virginia State Police continue to investigate this accident, the Tennessee truck driver already faces criminal charges for reckless driving. While the truck driver awaits the next steps in his legal case, it seems appropriate to review Virginia laws against and penalties for reckless driving.
Virginia Laws Against Reckless Driving
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852 establishes the general rule against reckless driving. Under this section, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in a dangerous way that creates a risk of property damage, physical injury, or death.
In addition to the general rule against reckless driving, Virginia law also features numerous regulations against specific types of driver conduct. For example, it also qualifies as reckless driving if a person:
- Drives with defective brakes (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-853);
- Passes on crests or curves (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-854);
- Drives with impaired control or obstructed view (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-855);
- Passes a stopped school bus (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-859); or
- Exceeds the speed limit in a dangerous way (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-862).
Virginia Punishment for Reckless Driving
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 details the punishment for reckless driving offenses. In most cases, reckless driving is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. If convicted, the offender can face a maximum sentence of 12 months in jail and $2,500 in criminal fines.
That being said, reckless driving can become a Class 6 felony under special circumstances. At that level, the maximum sentence includes 60 months in prison and $2,500 in criminal fines. Though this punishment only applies when a person:
- Has a suspended or revoked driver’s license;
- Commits a reckless driving offense; and
- Causes the death of another person.
Additionally, any person convicted for reckless driving may also face a period of driver’s license suspension or revocation. Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-392, reckless driving offenses can result in six months of driver’s license suspension.
Let Us Help You Today
If you need legal help with criminal charges for reckless driving in Virginia, it can be thoroughly helpful to consult with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney. The Winchester reckless driving attorneys at Simms Showers LLP have demonstrated proficiency defending against various criminal charges, including reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.