Reckless Driving Leaves Two People With Severe Injuries in Virginia
A 22-year-old woman from Lanexa, Virginia, faces criminal charges for reckless driving after smashing into a broken down SUV on the shoulder of Route 60, according to an article by WTVR.
This car accident occurred in New Kent County at approximately 2:55 p.m. on Thanksgiving Day. Around that time, the SUV broke down on the highway and pulled over to the shoulder. One person was steering while two others pushed the SUV from behind.
That is when the Lanexa woman collided with the back of the SUV. The two people pushing the SUV both sustained severe injuries. Authorities rushed one person via helicopter and the other via ambulance to the VCU Medical Center. Both people received urgent medical treatment.
At this point, the two injured people are still recovering from their injuries. The Lanexa woman was charged with reckless driving and awaits further proceedings.
What is the Virginia Definition of Reckless Driving?
The definition of reckless driving appears in Code of Virginia 46.2-852. Essentially, reckless driving in Virginia involves dangerous or careless driving behavior. Anytime a person drives in such a way that puts other people or property at risk, then it may be considered reckless driving.
Under Code of Virginia 46.2-853, there are special considerations that involve vehicle control. If a person drives a vehicle in an out-of-control manner – due to faulty brakes or any other reason – then it may be considered reckless driving.
There is also a provision under Code of Virginia 46.2-860 that addresses the use of signals. If a driver fails to use turn or brake signals in a proper fashion – clearly indicating the need to turn, slow down or stop – then it may be considered reckless driving.
Additionally, Code of Virginia 46.2-853 lays out specific rules for speeding. If a person drives more than 80 miles per hour – or more than 20 miles per hour over the speed limit – then it may be considered reckless driving.
What are the Virginia Penalties for Reckless Driving?
There is a specific breakdown of the penalties for reckless driving in Code of Virginia section 46.2-868. Given the wide range of potential conduct that qualifies as reckless driving, there is also a wide range of applicable penalties.
On the lenient side, reckless driving in Virginia can constitute a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties for a Class 1 misdemeanor include a maximum jail term of 12 months, fines of $2,500 and driver’s license revocation for six months.
On the severe side, reckless driving in Virginia can constitute a Class 6 felony in certain circumstances. The penalties for a Class 6 include a maximum jail term of five years and fines of $2,500.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you are facing criminal charges for reckless driving, it can be extremely helpful to retain the services of a seasoned criminal defense attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP have a proven track record of success in criminal defense, including reckless driving. Contact us today for help.