Repeat DUI Offender Arrested After Fleeing Virginia Police
A Virginia man faces criminal charges after attempting to elude police officers while also driving drunk, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror. Official statements say this will be his fourth DUI offense.
On Tuesday, July 14th, at approximately 3 a.m., police officers attempted to execute a traffic stop near Loudoun County Parkway and Route 7. But the Virginia man ignored the police officers and attempted to speed off. The officers apprehended the Virginia man shortly thereafter on Claiborne Parkway.
As a result of this incident, the Virginia man faces criminal charges for his fourth DUI as well as eluding police and driving without a license. While the legal situation continues to develop, it seems appropriate to review the potential punishment awaiting this Virginia man.
How Does Virginia Punish DUI?
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270 outlines the punishment for DUI, as follows:
- First Offense — Class 1 misdemeanor with a mandatory minimum of $250 in fines and sometimes 10 days in jail;
- Second Offense — Class 1 misdemeanor with a mandatory minimum of $500 in fines and 10-20 days in jail;
- Third Offense — Class 6 felony with a mandatory minimum of $1,000 in fines and 90 days in prison; or
- Fourth or Subsequent Offense — Class 6 felony with a mandatory minimum of $1,000 in fines and 12 months in prison.
Moreover, Code of Virginia Section 18.2-271 requires driver’s license suspension for DUI offenses. Under this section, DUI offenders lose their license for one year for the first offense. The revocation period increases to three years for the second offense. A third or subsequent offense leads to indefinite revocation of driving privileges.
How Does Virginia Punish Eluding Police?
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-817 establishes the punishment for eluding police. At a minimum, this offense is punishable as a Class 2 misdemeanor. If convicted, the statutory penalty includes up to $1,000 in fines and a maximum of six months in jail.
That being said, eluding police can become a felony, if certain aggravating factors are present. For example, if a person eludes the police and causes the death of an officer, it is a Class 4 felony. If convicted, the statutory penalty includes up to $100,000 in fines and a maximum of 10 years in prison.
How Does Virginia Punish Driving Without a License?
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-817 provides the punishment for driving without a license. The first offense is a Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable as explained previously. A second or subsequent offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor. Driving without a license can also result in 90 days of driver’s license suspension.
Let Us Help You Today
If you have legal questions about DUI, eluding police or driving without a license in Virginia, it can be tremendously beneficial to consult with an accomplished Virginia DUI defense attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP have far-reaching experience in matters of criminal defense, including DUI and many other offenses. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.