Loudoun County Hit and Run Leads to Criminal Charges Against Ashburn Woman
A hit-and-run incident in Loudoun County has an Ashburn woman facing criminal charges for multiple traffic violations, according to an article by the Loudoun-Times Mirror.
This car accident occurred on Thursday, November 7th just before 1 a.m. That is when deputies from the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office responded to reports of a hit and run near the 20900 block of Davenport Drive in Sterling. The victim claimed that someone collided with his parked car and then drove away.
Sheriff’s deputies tracked down the Ashburn woman’s vehicle and attempted to execute a traffic stop. But the Ashburn woman refused to stop and continued to drive away. But the sheriff’s deputies managed to pull over the Ashburn woman shortly thereafter.
As a result of this incident, the Ashburn woman now faces criminal charges for hit and run, eluding police, and several other violations. While the Ashburn woman waits for her legal case to play out, it seems appropriate to review the Virginia punishments for hit and run as well as eluding police.
What is the Virginia Punishment for Hit and Run?
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-894 requires all drivers to stop and file a report after an accident that results in property damage. Any driver who disregards this requirement is subject to criminal penalties under Virginia law. Though the penalty changes based on the circumstances of the accident in question.
If the accident only caused property damage totaling $1,000 or less, hit and run is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The Virginia penalties for this type of misdemeanor include a jail sentence of 12 months and criminal fines up to $2,500.
If the accident caused injury, death, or more than $1,000 in property damage, hit and run is a Class 5 felony. The Virginia penalties for this type of felony include a prison sentence of one to 10 years and criminal fines up to $2,500.
What is the Virginia Punishment for Eluding Police?
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-817 requires all drivers to stop when instructed to do by law enforcement. After receiving such an instruction, any driver who attempts to flee or elude law enforcement is subject to criminal penalties under Virginia law.
Typically, violating Section 46.2-817 by eluding police is a Class 2 misdemeanor. The Virginia penalties for this type of misdemeanor include a jail sentence of six months and criminal fines up to $1,000.
On the other hand, eluding police can become a felony offense. For example, if a driver acts in a wanton or willful way that endangers law enforcement, eluding police qualifies as a Class 6 felony. The Virginia penalties for this type of felony include a prison sentence of one to five years and criminal fines up to $2,500.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you need legal help with criminal charges for hit and run or eluding police in Virginia, it can be demonstratively valuable to consult with a seasoned criminal defense attorney. The Leesburg criminal defense attorneys at Simms Showers LLP have amassed a wealth of combined legal experience in matters of criminal defense, including hit and run as well as eluding police. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.