Virginia School Principal Arrested For DWI & Hit And Run In Loudoun County
The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office arrested an elementary school principal for driving while intoxicated (DWI) and hit-and-run offenses, according to an article by ABC affiliate WJLA.
Sheriff’s deputies began investigating this incident after responding to reports of a vehicle crashing into a residence. The perpetrator left the scene of the accident without providing any required information. But witness statements helped the deputies identify a potential suspect, a 44-year-old man who serves as the principal of Navy Elementary School in Fairfax.
As a result of this incident, the elementary school principal faces criminal charges for hit and run as well as DWI. While this man awaits further legal proceedings at the Loudoun County Adult Detention Center, it seems relevant to review the Virginia penalties for hit and run as well as DWI.
Virginia Penalties for Hit & Run
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-894 provides the penalties for hit-and-run offenses. Under this section, hit and run is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor, if the accident resulted in $1,000 or less in damage to property. If convicted, the punishment for this Class 1 misdemeanor includes a maximum of 12 months in jail and up to $2,500 in criminal fines.
On the other hand, hit-and-run offenses can result in Class 5 felony charges. If convicted, the punishment for this Class 5 felony includes one to 10 years in prison and up to $2,500 in criminal fines. But felony charges for this offense only apply if the offender:
- Inflicted more than $1,000 in damage to property; or
- Caused injury to or the death of a victim.
Virginia Penalties for DWI
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270 establishes the penalties for DWI offenses. Though the charges and penalties usually fluctuate based on the number of previous convictions, if any. For example:
- First DWI Conviction — Is a Class 1 misdemeanor with a mandatory minimum of $250 in criminal fines and, for certain offenses, five to 10 days in jail;
- Second DWI Conviction (within 5-10 years) — Is a Class 1 misdemeanor with a mandatory minimum of $500 in criminal fines and 10 to 20 days in jail;
- Third DWI Conviction (within 5-10 years) — Is a Class 6 felony with a mandatory minimum of $1,000 in criminal fines and 90 days to six months in prison; or
- Fourth or Subsequent DWI Conviction (within 10 years) — Is a Class 6 felony with a mandatory minimum of $1,000 in criminal fines and 12 months in prison.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you need legal assistance with Virginia charges for DUI, it can be greatly helpful to contact a respectable Leesburg criminal attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP feature demonstrated capabilities in criminal defense, including DUI charges. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.