Virginia School Bus Driver Charged With Reckless Driving
A Virginia school bus driver faces reckless driving charges after allegedly crashing and causing injury to 14 children, according to an article by CBS affiliate WTVR.
The driver in question was transporting children to an elementary school for class. Before they could arrive, however, the driver allegedly lost control of the vehicle, ran off the road and into a ditch, and crashed into a utility post.
As a result of this incident, local authorities charged the Virginia bus driver with failure to maintain proper control, which is a version of reckless driving. While this matter develops in legal circles, it seems appropriate to review the Virginia laws against and penalties for reckless driving.
Reckless Driving Laws in Virginia
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852 furnishes the laws against reckless driving. Under this section, it is unlawful to operate a vehicle in a dangerous or reckless manner that creates a likely probability of death, physical injury, or property damage.
Over and above the general rule above, Virginia law classifies other types of behavior as reckless driving. For example, Code of Virginia Section 46.2-853 requires all drivers to maintain proper control of their vehicle. Any driver who fails to maintain proper control can face criminal charges for reckless driving.
Reckless Driving Penalties in Virginia
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 explains the penalty structure for reckless driving offenses. Under this section, reckless driving is usually charged as a Class 2 misdemeanor. If convicted of this misdemeanor, reckless driving offenders can face a maximum of $2,500 in criminal fines and 12 months in jail.
That being said, Section 46.2-868 also establishes a Class 6 felony version of reckless driving. The felony version of this offense applies when a driver:
- Commits reckless driving on a license suspended or revoked for a moving violation; and
- Causes the death of a victim as a direct and proximate result.
If convicted of this felony, reckless driving offenders can face criminal fines up to $2,500 and 12 to 60 months in prison.
In addition to the criminal penalties above, reckless driving offenders can face driver’s license suspension under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393. Under this section, license suspension for reckless driving can range from 60 to 180 days. But the Virginia courts have discretion as to license suspension for reckless driving. It is not mandatory.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you need legal assistance with Virginia charges for reckless driving, it can be highly valuable to speak with a dependable Leesburg reckless driving attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP are well-versed in the art and practice of criminal defense, including reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.