Virginia Police Arrest Canadian Truck Driver for Reckless Driving
The Virginia State Police arrested a Canadian truck driver for reckless driving and felony hit-and-run, according to an article by CBS 19 News.
Official reports state that the truck driver was operating a tractor-trailer on Interstate 64. At the same time, a Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) worker was stopped on the shoulder to help another driver. The truck driver apparently lost control of the vehicle, slid off the road, and collided with the VDOT worker and their vehicle.
The truck driver immediately drove away from the scene of the accident. With the assistance of a witness, however, the Virginia State Police were able to track down the truck driver on Interstate 81.
First responders transported the VDOT worker to the University of Virginia Medical Center for emergency treatment of life-threatening injuries. The truck driver did not appear to sustain any injuries and was transported to the Middle River Regional Jail after his arrest.
At this juncture, the Canadian truck driver will have to appear in court concerning the charges of reckless driving and felony hit-and-run. This truck driver is facing the possibility of significant penalties under several Virginia statutes.
Virginia Penalties for Reckless Driving
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 establishes the state penalties for reckless driving. Under this section, reckless driving is ordinarily a Class 1 misdemeanor. If a person is convicted for this misdemeanor, the penalties are a maximum of $2,500 in criminal fines and 12 months in county jail.
Section 46.2-868 also explains how reckless driving can become a Class 6 felony in Virginia. This heightened penalty triggers when a person commits reckless driving without a valid license and causes a fatality. If a person is convicted for this felony, the Virginia penalties are a maximum of $2,500 in criminal fines and five years in prison.
Furthermore, Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393 requires license suspension for reckless driving offenses. The time period for license suspension for reckless driving is between 60 to 180 days. This suspension period, however, may increase for felony reckless driving offenses.
Virginia Penalties for Hit-and-Run
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-894 details the state penalties for hit-and-run offenses. These offenses are subject to a multifaceted penalty structure, as outlined below. A Virginia hit-and-run offense that involves:
- Physical Injury or Death — Is a Class 5 felony, punishable by a maximum of $2,500 in criminal fines and 10 years in prison;
- More than $1,000 in Property Damage — Is a Class 5 felony, punishable as described above; or
- Less than $1,000 in Property Damage — Is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum of 12 months in county jail and $2,500 in criminal fines.
Contact Us Today for Help
If you have legal questions about reckless driving in Virginia, it can be immediately beneficial to contact a Winchester reckless driving attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP are focused on defending their clients’ interests in a variety of matters, including reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.