Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Leesburg, Winchester & Manassas Attorneys
CALL FOR A CONSULTATION TODAY Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only
Loudoun County Attorneys > Blog > Reckless Driving > Virginia Man Faces Reckless Driving Charges For Fatal Accident

Virginia Man Faces Reckless Driving Charges For Fatal Accident


Police arrested a man from Sterling, Virginia for allegedly committing reckless driving and causing a fatality, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.

The Virginia State Police stated that this accident occurred on August 27 at approximately 1 p.m. in Fauquier County. At that point, the Sterling man was driving on James Madison Highway (Route 29). Near Marsh Road (Route 17), the Sterling man allegedly ran a red light and crashed into a motorcycle. The 77-year-old motorcycle operator died at the scene.

Initial reports indicate that the Sterling man was driving at approximately 60 miles per hour at the time of the accident. But the applicable speed limit in the area is 45 miles per hour.

As a result of this accident, the Sterling man faces criminal charges for reckless driving. While this man awaits further developments in court, it seems like a timely occasion to review the Virginia laws against and penalties for reckless driving.

Virginia Laws Against Reckless Driving

The law against reckless driving appears at Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852. This section prohibits any person from operating a vehicle in a dangerous way that may lead to property damage, physical injury, or death.

On top of Section 46.2-852’s universal rule above, Virginia features other laws against reckless driving. For example, it qualifies as reckless driving to violate laws that include but are not limited to:

  • Driving with improper control or faulty brakes (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-853);
  • Driving with obstructed view or impaired control (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-855); and
  • Exceeding speed limit (Code of Virginia Section 46.2-862).

Virginia Penalties for Reckless Driving

The penalties for reckless driving appear at Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868. This section categorizes standard reckless driving offenses as Class 1 misdemeanors. If convicted, the punishment can include an upper limit of $2,500 in criminal fines, 12 months in jail, and driver’s license suspension or revocation.

On the other hand, reckless driving can become a Class 6 felony under Section 46.2-868. The felony version of reckless driving applies to any person who:

  • Commits reckless driving on a license suspended or revoked for a moving violation; and
  • As a proximate result, causes the death of a victim.

If convicted for the Class 6 felony version of reckless driving, the punishment can include an upper limit of $2,500 in criminal fines, 60 months in jail, and driver’s license suspension or revocation.

Do You Need Legal Help?

If you need legal assistance with Virginia charges for reckless driving, it can be immensely helpful to speak with a dependable Leesburg reckless driving attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP have assisted many clients defend against various criminal charges, including reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.








Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
MileMark Media

© 2023 - 2024 Simms Showers, LLP. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.

x Which Newsletter are you interested in? *