Virginia Man Drags Police Officer During Reckless Driving Incident
A Virginia man was sentenced for reckless driving, assault and battery, and other crimes after hurting a police officer while in possession of an illegal assault rifle, according to an article by WTKR.
Approximately one year ago, this Virginia man was speeding on Interstate 264 near First Colonial Road. A police officer attempted to pull over this man. But the man sped off and dragged the officer for several feet. Though officers were able to arrest this man relatively quickly, locating an AK-47 assault rifle in the vehicle trunk.
The authorities pressed official charges against this Virginia man and secured a conviction last week. Overall, this man will spend a little less than two years in jail for the following offenses:
- Reckless Driving;
- Assault & Battery of a Police Officer;
- Driving on a Revoked or Suspended License; and
- Providing False ID to a Police Officer.
In light of this Virginia man’s sentence, it seems like an appropriate time to review the standard Virginia penalties for the above listed criminal offenses.
What are the Penalties in Virginia for Reckless Driving?
The standard penalties for reckless driving appear under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868. This offense is usually a Class 1 misdemeanor. The standard Virginia penalties for a Class 1 misdemeanor include a 12-month jail sentence and up to $2,500 in criminal fines. On the other hand, reckless driving where a person kills someone else on a revoked or suspended license can result in felony charges.
What are the Penalties in Virginia for Assault & Battery of a Police Officer?
The standard penalties for assault and battery of a police officer appear under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-57. If a person knowingly commits this offense, it is a Class 6 felony in Virginia. The standard Virginia penalties for a Class 6 felony include a prison sentence of 12 to 60 months and up to $2,500 in criminal fines.
What are the Penalties in Virginia for Driving on a Revoked or Suspended License?
The standard penalties for driving on a revoked or suspended license appear under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-301. This offense is usually a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. The standard Virginia penalties are substantially similar to the other above listed Class 1 misdemeanor offenses.
That being said, a third or subsequent violation of Section 46.2-301 within 10 years can result in special penalties. Specifically, these repeat offenders face a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail under Section 46.2-301.
What are the Penalties in Virginia for Providing False ID to a Police Officer?
The standard penalties in Virginia for providing false identification to a police officer appear under Code of Virginia Section 19.2-82.1. This offense is usually a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. The standard Virginia penalties are substantially similar to the other above listed Class 1 misdemeanor offenses.
Let Us Help You Today
If you have legal questions about reckless driving or other criminal offenses in Virginia, it is wise to reach out to a qualified criminal defense attorney. The Leesburg reckless driving attorneys at Simms Showers, LLP, servicing Leesburg, Winchester, Fairfax, and Manassas, have established qualifications in the field of criminal defense, including reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.