Virginia Driver Faces DUI & Other Charges After High-Speed Chase
A Virginia woman faces criminal charges for DUI and multiple other offenses after leading law enforcement on a high-speed chase, according to an article by ABC-affiliate WRIC.
Allegedly, law enforcement officers attempted to pull over this driver at approximately 7 p.m. on January 5. But the driver sped off and led them on a high-speed chase through Spotsylvania county and the city of Fredericksburg. Eventually, law enforcement officers were able to stop the driver and apprehend her.
At this point, the Virginia driver in question faces criminal charges for DUI, eluding police, and various other crimes. While this driver awaits developments in her legal case, it seems appropriate to review several applicable punishments under Virginia law.
Virginia Punishment for DUI
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270 supplies the punishment for DUI. It is vital to note that the punishment for this offense changes drastically based on various circumstances. For example:
- A First Offense DUI — Subjects the offender to Class 1 misdemeanor charges with a mandatory minimum of $250 in criminal fines and, potentially, five to 10 days in jail;
- A Second Offense DUI — Subjects the offender to Class 1 misdemeanor charges with a mandatory minimum of $500 in criminal fines and 10 to 20 days in jail;
- A Third Offense DUI — Subjects the offender to Class 6 felony charges with a mandatory minimum of $1,000 in criminal fines and 90 to 180 days in prison; or
- A Fourth or Subsequent Offense DUI — Subjects the offender to Class 6 felony charges with a mandatory minimum of $1,000 in criminal fines and 12 months in prison.
In addition, DUI offenders are subject to mandatory suspension of driving privileges under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-271. The applicable suspension period normally varies from one to three years, depending on the number of previous offenses. Certain repeat offenders, however, may be subject to indefinite revocation of driving privileges.
Virginia Punishment for Eluding Police
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-817 establishes the punishment for eluding police. At a minimum, this offense is punishable as a Class 2 misdemeanor. If convicted of this charge, the punishment can include a six-month jail sentence and criminal fines up to $1,000.
If the offense in question subjects a police officer to a risk of harm or injury, however, eluding police can become a Class 6 felony. If convicted on this charge, the punishment can include imprisonment for one to five years and criminal fines up to $2,500.
Moreover, eluding police can transition into a Class 4 felony in certain circumstances. This elevated charge applies if the offense is the direct and proximate cause of a police officer’s death. If convicted on this charge, the offender can face a punishment that includes imprisonment for two to 10 years and criminal fines up to $100,000.
Let Us Help You Today
If you have legal questions about Virginia charges for DUI or eluding police, it can be thoroughly useful to contact a Leesburg DUI & DWI attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP bring more than 140 years of combined legal experience to the service of their clients in many legal contexts, including criminal defense of charges like DUI and eluding police. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.