Virginia Charges Maryland Man with Reckless Driving & Assaulting Police
After allegedly leading police on a dangerous chase, a Maryland man faces criminal charges for reckless driving and assaulting a police officer in Virginia, according to an article by NBC29.
On Sunday, February 7, Augusta County Sheriff’s deputies attempted to execute a traffic stop in the 400 block of East Side Highway. When the deputies exited their vehicles, the Maryland man allegedly reversed into one of the police vehicles and then sped off.
Sheriff’s deputies later apprehended the Maryland man on Crabtree Falls Highway in Nelson County. As a result of this incident, the Maryland man faces criminal charges for reckless driving, assaulting a police officer, and hit and run, among several other offenses.
While this Maryland man awaits further developments in court, it seems like an opportune moment to review how Virginia punishes reckless driving, assaulting a police officer, and hit and run.
How Does Virginia Punish Reckless Driving?
The state punishment for reckless driving appears under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-858. At a minimum, reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. If convicted, the statutory punishment includes a maximum jail sentence of 12 months and up to $2,500 in criminal fines.
In addition to the misdemeanor version of reckless driving, Section 46.2-858 also details a felony version. This version only applies when a fatality occurs as a result of reckless driving on a suspended or revoked license. In these situations, reckless driving is a Class 6 felony in Virginia. If convicted, the statutory punishment includes a prison sentence between one and five years, as well as up to $2,500 in criminal fines.
On a related note, reckless driving offenders will also face mandatory license suspension. Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393, the suspension period for reckless driving typically ranges between two and six months.
How Does Virginia Punish Assaulting a Police Officer?
The state punishment for assaulting a police officer appears under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-57. Any person who commits this offense in Virginia will likely face Class 6 felony charges, punishable as described above. For this offense, specifically, however, there is a mandatory minimum of six months in prison.
How Does Virginia Punish Hit and Run?
The state punishment for hit and run appears under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-894. The punishment for this offense changes based on the circumstances. For example, hit and run offenses that involve:
- Property Damage (less than $1,000) — Result in Class 1 misdemeanor charges, punishable by up to 12 months in county jail and up to $2,500 in criminal fines;
- Property Damage (more than $1,000) — Result in Class 5 felony charges, punishable by a prison sentence between one and 10 years and up to $2,500 in criminal fines; or
- Harm, Injury, or Death — Result in Class 5 felony charges, punishable as described above.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you need legal assistance with reckless driving, assaulting a police officer, or hit and run in Virginia, it can be highly constructive to speak with a Leesburg criminal defense attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP can help you. Reach out to us today.