Police Arrest Virginian man for DUI, Larceny & Property Damage
The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office arrested a Virginian man for alleged DUI, larceny, and property damage offenses, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.
At approximately 8:30 p.m. on May 24th, sheriff’s deputies responded to reports of a suspected theft near the 20000 block of Quiet Walk Terrace in Ashburn. The deputies were able to locate and apprehend the Virginian man without further incident.
Based on available evidence, the authorities charged the Virginian man with:
- Four counts of property damage;
- Two counts of petit larceny (under $500);
- One count of DUI; and
- Several other criminal offenses.
At this point, the Virginian man remains at the Loudoun County Adult Detention Center, awaiting the next steps in his legal case. To understand the potential punishment he faces, it will be helpful to review the Virginia penalties for DUI, larceny, and property damage.
What are the Virginia Penalties for DUI?
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270 provides the following penalties for DUI offenses:
- First Offense — Leads to Class 1 misdemeanor charges with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of five to 10 days and criminal fines of at least $250;
- Second Offense — Leads to Class 1 misdemeanor charges with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 to 20 days and criminal fines of at least $500;
- Third Offense — Leads to Class 6 felony charges with a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 90 days to six months as well as criminal fines of at least $1,000; or
- Fourth or Subsequent Offense — Leads to Class 6 felony charges with a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 12 months and criminal fines of at least $1,000.
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-271 establishes the requirement of driver’s license suspension or revocation for DUI offenses. Under this section, the first DUI offense results in 12 months of driver’s license suspension. A second offense triggers a 36-month suspension period. And a third or subsequent DUI offense results in permanent driver’s license revocation.
What are the Virginia Penalties for Petit Larceny?
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-96 details the punishment for petit larceny involving the theft of goods under $500. This offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, the statutory punishment includes a maximum jail sentence of 12 months and criminal fines up to $2,500.
What are the Virginia Penalties for Property Damage?
Code of Virginia Section 18.2-137 describes the penalty for criminal property damage. The punishment changes based on the value of the damage in question. Any person who damages property worth:
- Less than $1,000 — Is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor with the maximum statutory punishment described previously; or
- More than $1,000 — Is guilty of a Class 6 felony with a maximum statutory punishment of five years in prison and $2,500 in fines.
Let Us Help You Today
If you need legal help with Virginia charges for DUI, larceny, or property damage, it can be extremely productive to reach out to an accomplished criminal defense attorney. The Leesburg criminal defense attorneys at Simms Showers LLP understand how to defend clients against many types of criminal charges, including DUI, larceny, and property damage. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.