Virginia Man Charged With Assault & Abduction After Holiday Weekend
A man from Sterling, Virginia faces criminal charges for assault and battery, abduction, and other crimes after the July 4th holiday weekend, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.
At approximately 7 p.m. on Monday, July 5, the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office responded to a victim’s report of assault. The Sterling man allegedly forced his way into the victim’s residence in the 300 block of Argus Place. The perpetrator prevented the victim from leaving their home.
After a search, sheriff’s deputies were able to locate the suspected perpetrator. After a successful arrest, local authorities charged the Sterling man with the following criminal offenses:
- Assault and battery;
- Property damage; and
- Violation of a protective order.
At this point, the Sterling man remains in police custody without bond at the Loudoun County Adult Detention Center. While this man’s legal case develops, it seems like a good idea to review the Virginia penalties for the aforementioned criminal charges.
What are the Virginia Penalties for Assault & Battery?
The penalty for assault and battery appears at Code of Virginia Section 18.2-57. Any person who commits assault and battery in violation of this section typically faces Class 1 misdemeanor charges. Conviction for a Class 1 misdemeanor usually results in the statutory punishment: confinement in county jail for 12 months and criminal fines up to $2,500.
What are the Virginia Penalties for Abduction?
The penalty for abduction appears at Code of Virginia Section 18.2-47. Any person who commits abduction in violation of this section usually faces Class 5 felony charges. Conviction for a Class 5 felony usually results in the statutory punishment: imprisonment for one to 10 years and criminal fines up to $2,500.
What are the Virginia Penalties for Property Damage?
The penalty for property damage appears at Code of Virginia Section 18.2-137. Any person who commits property damage in violation of this section generally faces a penalty from the structure below:
- Under $1,000 in damage — Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable as explained above; or
- Over $1,000 in damage — Class 6 felony, punishable by imprisonment for one to five years and criminal fines up to $2,500.
What are the Virginia Penalties for Violating a Protective Order?
The penalty for violating a protective order appears at Code of Virginia Section 18.2-60.4. Any person who violates the conditions of a protective order normally faces a penalty from the structure below:
- First Offense — Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable as explained above;
- Second Offense (within 5 years) — Class 1 misdemeanor with a mandatory minimum of 60 days in jail; or
- Third or Subsequent Offense (within 20 years) — Class 6 felony with a mandatory minimum of six months in prison.
Contact Us Today
If you need legal assistance with criminal charges under Virginia law, reach out to the skilled Leesburg assault & battery lawyers at Simms Showers. We can assist you throughout each step of your case.