Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Simms Showers, LLP. Motto
  • Call For A Consultation Today
  • ~
  • Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only
  • ~

Fatal Crash Leads To Reckless Driving Charges For Virginia Woman


A Virginia woman faces criminal charges for reckless driving after allegedly causing a fatal accident, according to an article by FOX affiliate WFXR.

The Virginia State Police indicated that this single-vehicle accident occurred just before 8 p.m. on Monday, October 31. At that time, the Virginia woman allegedly left the road after entering a curved stretch. After leaving the road, the vehicle then traveled through a small waterway and smashed into a tree.

As a result of this accident, several people sustained minor injuries, including the Virginia woman, an adult male passenger, and two children. Another male passenger sustained severe injuries and later died at a local hospital.

Although the Virginia State Police continues its investigation of this accident, the Virginia woman already faces criminal charges for reckless driving. In that light, it seems appropriate to review the Virginia laws against and penalties for reckless driving.

Virginia Laws Against Reckless Driving

The state laws against reckless driving appear under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852. This section prohibits any person from driving in a way that creates a risk of property damage, physical injury, or death.

In addition to the general rule under Section 46.2-852, Virginia also makes it illegal to drive in other reckless ways. For example, it can qualify as reckless driving if a person drives excessively fast or fails to use proper signals.

Virginia Penalties for Reckless Driving

The state penalties for reckless driving appear under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868. At a threshold level, reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The statutory punishment for a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia includes a maximum of $2,500 in criminal fines and 12 months in jail.

Section 46.2-868 also provides for a Class 6 felony version of reckless driving. The statutory punishment for a Class 6 felony in Virginia includes a maximum of $2,500 in criminal fines and a prison sentence between one and five years.

For the Class 6 felony version of reckless driving to apply, a person must:

  • Commit any reckless driving offense;
  • Have a suspended or revoked driver’s license at the time of the offense; and
  • Cause the death of someone else as a proximate result of reckless driving.

Upon conviction for either the misdemeanor or felony version of reckless driving, the perpetrator can also face suspension of driving privileges. Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393, the suspension period can fluctuate between two and six months.

Do You Need Legal Help?

If you need legal assistance with Virginia charges for reckless driving, it can be demonstrably helpful to consult a capable Leesburg reckless driving attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP understand how to defend against many types of criminal charges, including reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Simms Showers LLP is conveniently located next to the Loudoun County Courthouse and other courthouses. Our criminal defense firm offers a free phone consultation for criminal or personal injury cases. Se habla español. Call Simms Showers LLP for quality legal counsel today at 703-771-4671 or contact us online.

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation