Leesburg, Winchester, Loudoun County Attorneys
Call for a Consultation Today Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only 703-997-7821
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Hablamos Español Sign up for our Newsletter!
x Which Newsletter are you intersted in? *

Subscribe to our criminal & civil law mailing list

* indicates required

Subscribe to our church & nonprofit law mailing list

* indicates required

Winchester Reckless Driving Attorneys

Reckless driving is not a minor traffic violation. While failing to use a turn signal, failing to come to a complete stop at a stop sign, and making an illegal U-turn can all cause serious injury or death in the wrong circumstances, there is an added level of risk and lack of concern to the lives of others for infractions considered to be reckless. According to Virginia statutes 46.2-852, “Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.” If you have been charged with reckless driving, no matter the specific infraction, it is imperative that you reach out to a defense attorney at once. Reckless driving is a crime in Virginia. You could be put in jail or even prison if the court deems it necessary and you do not have an adequate legal defense team at your side. Additionally, 12 points on your license in a 12 month time frame can lead to a suspended license, and it only takes two reckless driving infractions (six points each) to accumulate 12 points. Contact our experienced Winchester reckless driving attorneys today.

Fines and Jail Time

Aside from insurance premium costs and the accumulation of demerits through multiple violations, there are other concerns to be had for individual reckless driving infractions. Depending on the specific type or types of violations you commit, you can be fined a significant amount. According to Virginia statutes 18.2-10, a Class 6 reckless driving felony can cost $2,500 in fees, you can be sent to jail for a period of 12 months, and you may also lose your license for up to six months, none of which is even taking into account the 12 demerit points mentioned previously.

If You Were Pulled Over for Speeding, How was Your Speed Measured?

When you get pulled over by law enforcement for speeding, there are a variety of methods that may have been used to determine your speed. None of these methods is 100 percent accurate all of the time, and some are less accurate than you might think. Radar is one of the most frequently used methods for determining a vehicle’s speed, and though it is accurate when used correctly, the officer that measured your speed may not have had the best line of sight, the weather could have made for poor conditions, or heavy traffic surrounding you may have mislead the reading. Additionally, the radar itself may have been calibrated improperly. Another common speed determinant is pacing. Pacing requires the police officer to estimate your speed based on the speed they are traveling alongside, in front, or behind you. To accurately estimate this, the officer’s car must be able to maintain a constant speed and distance from your vehicle as a reference point. The natural terrain, visibility, and judgment of the officer all come into play in pacing scenarios.

Let Us Help You with Your Case

We can help you challenge the charges against you and stand up for your rights in court. Contact a Winchester reckless driving defense attorney at Simms Showers, LLP for help today.

Share This Page:
MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2015 Simms Showers LLP. All rights reserved.
This law firm website is managed by MileMark Media.

Contact Form Tab