Virginia Police Arrest Two For Loudoun County Burglaries
Virginia law enforcement arrested two men for felony burglary offenses committed in Sterling and Ashburn, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.
The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office announced these arrests on Tuesday, May 18th. One of the men is from Virginia; the other man hails from Maryland. The pair collaborated to force their way, allegedly, into a smoke shop in Sterling and a grocery store in Ashburn and stole cash from both locations.
At this point, law enforcement continues to investigate whether the two men are connected to other burglaries in the area. The two men remain in police custody without bond and face criminal charges for:
- Possession of a stolen firearm; and
- Destruction of property.
While the men await next steps in their respective legal cases, it seems like a good time to review several applicable laws and penalties in Virginia.
The state laws against burglary appear at Code of Virginia Section 18.2-89. Under this section, it is illegal to:
- Break into and enter another person’s residence or dwelling house at night; and
- Demonstrate an intent to commit larceny or any other felony.
Under Virginia law, burglary is usually charged as a Class 3 felony. A conviction at this level can result in a prison sentence between five and 20 years as well as criminal fines up to $100,000.
If the perpetrator was armed with a deadly weapon, however, the burglary charge becomes a Class 2 felony. A conviction at this level can result in a prison sentence of 20 years to life and criminal fines up to $100,000.
Possession of a Stolen Firearm
The state laws against possession of a stolen firearm appear at Code of Virginia Section 18.2-108.1. Under this section, it is unlawful to buy or receive a firearm — or aid in the concealment of a firearm — knowing that the firearm in question was stolen.
Under Virginia law, possession of a stolen firearm is typically charged as a Class 6 felony. A conviction at this level can result in a prison sentence between one and five years as well as criminal fines up to $2,500.
Destruction of Property
The state laws against destruction of property appear at Code of Virginia Section 18.2-137. Concerning the real or personal property of another person, it is illegal to:
- Destroy; or
- Remove objects without the intent to steal.
Under Virginia law, the punishment for destruction of property fluctuates based on the value of the property in question. If the property value is $1,000 or more, this offense is charged as a Class 6 felony and punished as outlined above.
If the property value is under $1,000, this offense is charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction at this level can result in a jail sentence of 12 months, criminal fines up to $2,500, and restitution for the property in question.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you need legal assistance with burglary or other crimes, the Leesburg criminal lawyers at Simms Showers LLP can help. Reach out to us today for a consultation.