Manassas Traffic Penalties & Fines Attorney
Traffic collisions can have serious consequences if people are injured or vehicles are totaled, but many traffic incidents are far less severe. The Bureau of Justice Statistics reports that 42 percent of interactions Americans had in 2011 with the police were from traffic stops and half of those traffic stops resulted in a traffic ticket. When a driver makes a simple error on the road, the consequences are increases to the driver’s insurance premiums and demerit points that can threaten their driver’s license. If you have been ticketed, our Manassas traffic penalty attorneys can help fight for your rights.
What is the Points System in Virginia?
Each driver in the state is rated by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Safe driving points are awarded each year in April. A driver earns one point for each year they hold a Virginia license without getting violations or suspensions. In some cases it is possible to earn a point for taking a driver’s improvement class. The maximum safe driving points a person can obtain is five at any given time. The benefit of safe driving points is that they can offset any demerit points given.
Demerit points are handed out for poor driving. Each time a person receives a driving violation they accumulate more demerit points. These points stay attached to a driver’s record for two years. Even if you have received your first traffic ticket, it is worth fighting in traffic court because it can result in fines and affect insurance rates. Additionally, if you proceed to get a second or third ticket, the penalties will threaten your driver’s license. Speak to a Manassas traffic violations attorney for more information.
The Difference Between Three, Four, Six, and 12 Points
The Virginia DMV provides details about each how many points each violation will receive. Examples of violations that will result in three points on a driving record include:
- Speeding 1-9 mph above the posted speed limit;
- Impeding traffic or driving too slow for the speed limit;
- Improper passing or turning;
- Improper driving or passing;
- Broken lights or not properly signaling; and
- Driving without a license or violations the restrictions of a learner’s permit.
Examples of what will cause a driver to be given four points on their license include:
- Speeding 10-19 mph above the posted speed limit;
- Failure to appropriately yield;
- Passing other vehicles in an unsafe manner; and
- Failure to stop at the scene of a crash that results in property damage.
Examples of six-point violations include:
- Reckless driving;
- Failure to stop at the scene of a crash that results in injury;
- Operating an unsafe vehicle; and
- Speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit.
When a driver reaches 12 points in a year they risk losing their license. If a driver reaches 18 points in a year or 24 points in two years they will automatically lose their license for 90 days.
Contact a Manassas Traffic Penalties & Fines Attorney Today
Contact an experienced defense attorney at Simms Showers LLP to help you with any looming demerit points you have on your driving record. We can help you the each step of the legal process and answer all of your questions.