Skip to main content
Northstar Church and Nonprofit Video Conference and Business Webinar Recordings Here! Click Here to View!

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
SIMMS SHOWERS LLP Leesburg & Loudoun County Attorney
  • CALL FOR A CONSULTATION TODAY
  • ~
  • Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only
  • ~
  • HABLAMOS ESPAÑOL

Virginia Man Faces Reckless Driving & Repeat DUI Charges

DUI7

The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office arrested a Virginia man for DUI, reckless driving, and various other offenses, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.

As stated in official reports, a sheriff’s deputy responded to reports of a possible incident on Monday, January 25 at approximately 2 p.m. Near the area of Enterprise Street in Sterling, the deputy observed a potential reckless driver.

After a brief chase, the deputy apprehended the Virginia man near the intersection of Enterprise Street and East Holly Avenue. As a result of this incident, the Virginia man faces multiple charges, including a second-offense DUI and reckless driving.

While this Virginia man awaits further legal developments at the Loudoun County Adult Detention Center, it seems like a good time to review the Virginia penalties for first- and second-time DUI and reckless driving.

Virginia Punishment for DUI

Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270 establishes the punishment for DUI. On the first or second offense, this offense is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. But Virginia law imposes various minimum sentences for first or second occurrences, based on the circumstances of the offense. For example:

  • First Offense — Includes a mandatory minimum of $250 in criminal fines and, in cases of severe intoxication, the possibility of five to 10 days in jail.
  • Second Offense — Includes a mandatory minimum of $500 in criminal fines and 10 to 20 days in jail.

Moreover, Code of Virginia Section 18.2-271 requires license suspension for DUI offenses. For a first or second DUI conviction, the suspension period usually ranges between one and three years.

Virginia Punishment for Reckless Driving

Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 explains the punishment for reckless driving. Ordinarily, this offense is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor, and offenders are subject to a maximum of 12 months in county jail and criminal fines up to $2,500.

That being said, reckless driving can lead to Class 6 felony charges. In order to face felony charges, the offender must commit reckless driving on a suspended license and cause the death of another person. In these cases, the punishment can include a prison sentence between one and five years as well as criminal fines up to $2,500.

Furthermore, Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393 mandates license suspension for reckless driving offenses, regardless of severity. Depending on the circumstances, reckless driving offenders can face a suspension period between 60 days and six months.

Contact Us Today for Help

If you have legal questions about Virginia charges for DUI or reckless driving, it’s best to contact an experienced Leesburg criminal defense attorney. Reach out to the skilled attorneys at Simms Showers LLP for help with your case.

Resource:

loudountimes.com/news/sterling-man-charged-with-second-dwi-other-traffic-infractions/article_4d690f22-5a99-11eb-87b8-bfd038a96a3c.html

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Simms Showers LLP is conveniently located two blocks from the Loudoun County Courthouse. Our criminal defense firm offers a free phone consultation for criminal or personal injury cases. Se habla español. Call Simms Showers LLP for quality legal counsel today at 703-997-7821 or contact us online.

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation

CALL FOR A CONSULTATION TODAY 703-879-1364