Skip to main content
Northstar Church and Nonprofit Video Conference and Business Webinar Recordings Here! Click Here to View!

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
SIMMS SHOWERS LLP Leesburg & Loudoun County Attorney
  • CALL FOR A CONSULTATION TODAY
  • ~
  • Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only
  • ~
  • HABLAMOS ESPAÑOL

Drunk Driver Arrested in Sterling After Causing Car Crash

CraCrash

The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office arrested a 37-year-old woman for drunk driving after an alleged automotive collision, according to an article by the Loudoun Times-Mirror.

Sheriff’s deputies responded to reports of a vehicle crash on July 27th at approximately 9 p.m. Near the intersection of West Church Street and North York Road, the deputies located the woman in question, who appeared to be intoxicated. The woman did not have a driver’s license and also provided a false name to the sheriff’s deputies.

At this point, this woman awaits next steps in her legal case at the Loudoun County Adult Detention Center. To understand the gravity of the charges against her, it will be helpful to review several applicable statutes under Virginia law.

Providing False ID to Police

Code of Virginia Section 19.2-82.1 makes it unlawful to portray a false identity to a law enforcement officer. It does not matter if the alleged offender actually produces an identification card or similar document. If that person intended to deceive or obscure their true identity, it qualifies as a violation of this section.

Any person who violates Section 19.2-82.1 is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, the maximum statutory punishment includes confinement in county jail for 12 months and criminal fines up to $2,500.

Driving Without a License

Code of Virginia Section 46.2-300 makes it illegal to operate a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license. Though there are certain exceptions, most people must complete the driver’s examination and obtain a license before operating a vehicle in Virginia.

Any person who violates Section 46.2-300 a first time is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. If convicted, the maximum statutory punishment includes confinement in county jail for six months and criminal fines up to $1,000.

Any person who violates Section 46.2-300 a second or subsequent time is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, the maximum punishment is the same as outlined above.

In addition, any person who drives without a license will also experience mandatory suspension of driving privileges. The applicable suspension period for this offense is 90 days under Section 46.2-300.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

Code of Virginia Section 18.2-266 makes it unlawful to drive under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both. Once a person becomes impaired and incapable of driving safely, it likely qualifies as a DUI in Virginia.

Any person who commits DUI in Virginia will face criminal punishment under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270. In most situations, a first or second DUI is a Class 1 misdemeanor with the same statutory maximums described above.

But Section 18.2-270 also establishes mandatory minimum levels of punishment for DUI offenses. A first offense includes a minimum fine of $250 and, in certain situations, a 10-day jail sentence. A second offense includes a minimum fine of $500 and, generally, 10 to 20 days in jail.

DUI offenders will also lose their driving privileges under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-271. This section mandates a one-year suspension period for the first DUI offense; whereas, a second offense leads to a three-year revocation period.

Contact Us Today for Help

If you need legal assistance with DUI or other criminal offenses in Virginia, it can be highly valuable to contact an established Virginia DUI defense attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP feature proven credentials in criminal defense, representing clients against charges for DUI and many other offenses. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.

Resource:

loudountimes.com/news/woman-charged-with-dwi-false-self-identification-after-sterling-crash/article_3d948216-d0f6-11ea-baf0-bbd55c5cf182.html

https://www.simmsshowerslaw.com/4-consequences-of-a-dui-conviction-in-virginia/

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Simms Showers LLP is conveniently located two blocks from the Loudoun County Courthouse. Our criminal defense firm offers a free phone consultation for criminal or personal injury cases. Se habla español. Call Simms Showers LLP for quality legal counsel today at 703-997-7821 or contact us online.

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation

CALL FOR A CONSULTATION TODAY 703-879-1364