Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Northstar Church and Nonprofit Video Conference and Business Webinar Recordings Here! Click Here to View!
Leesburg & Loudoun County Attorney
Call For a Consultation Today Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only 703-879-1364 Make a payment
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Hablamos Español
Sign Up for Our Newsletter!
Lawpay Payment Page

Virginia Woman Arrested For DUI & Assaulting Police


The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office arrested a Virginia woman for allegedly driving under the influence (DUI) and assaulting a police officer, according to an article by Patch.

This incident occurred on Tuesday, September 20 at approximately 9:30 p.m. That is when the Virginia woman allegedly caused an accident near Newvalley Church Road and Rosefinch Circle in Leesburg. When law enforcement responded to the incident, the Virginia woman allegedly displayed signs of intoxication and punched one of the deputies.

As a result of this incident, the Virginia woman faces criminal charges for assault and battery against a police officer, DUI, and other offenses. Even though this woman remains in police custody at the Loudoun County Adult Detention Center without bond, it seems relevant to review the potential penalties at play.

Assault & Battery Against Police

The penalties for assault and battery against a police officer appear at Code of Virginia Section 18.2-57. If a person commits assault and battery in violation of this section — knowing or having a reason to know that the victim is a police officer — it is a Class 6 felony.

If convicted of this Class 6 felony, the penalties can include imprisonment for one to five years and criminal fines up to $2,500. In addition, Section 18.2-57 imposes a mandatory minimum confinement period of six months for assault and battery against a police officer.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

The penalties for DUI appear at Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270. Under this section, there are misdemeanor and felony versions of DUI. Though the penalties can fluctuate within each of those categories, including harsh punishment for repeat offenders and drivers with elevated blood-alcohol concentration (BAC).

From a higher-level standpoint, any person who commits DUI in Virginia is punishable as outlined below:

  • First-Time Offense — Results in Class 1 misdemeanor charges, criminal fines of at least $250;
  • Second-Time Offense — Results in Class 1 misdemeanor charges, criminal fines of at least $500, and confinement in jail for a minimum of 10 to 20 days;
  • Third-Time Offense — Results in Class 6 felony charges, criminal fines of at least $1,000, and imprisonment for a minimum of 90 days; or
  • Fourth-Time Offense or More— Results in Class 6 felony charges, criminal fines of at least $1,000, and imprisonment for a minimum of 12 months.

On top of the criminal penalties above, DUI offenders are subject to mandatory suspension or revocation of driving privileges under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-271.

Do You Need Legal Help?

If you have legal questions about DUI or other crimes in Virginia, it can be highly constructive to speak with a skilled Leesburg criminal defense attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP appreciate the ins and outs of criminal defense in various matters, including DUI. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.






Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Contact the Leesburg, Winchester & Loudoun County Attorneys of Simms Showers LLP today

Simms Showers LLP is conveniently located two blocks from the Loudoun County Courthouse. Our criminal defense firm offers a free phone consultation for criminal or personal injury cases. Se habla español. Call Simms Showers LLP for quality legal counsel today at 703-997-7821 or contact us online.

I acknowledge that contacting Simms Showers LLP, through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.
Return To Top
x Which Newsletter are you intersted in? *