Virginia Truck Driver Faces Reckless Driving Charge For Accident In Loudoun County
A truck driver faces criminal charges for reckless driving after allegedly causing a crash that resulted in four injuries, according to an article by Loudoun Now.
This incident occurred on Friday, July 23 at approximately 10 a.m., when the truck driver entered the Raven Rocks intersection on Route 7 and crashed into a passenger vehicle. Four people in the passenger vehicle sustained serious injuries and received medical treatment after transportation to nearby hospitals.
After conducting an initial investigation, the Virginia State Police determined that the truck in question had improper or faulty brakes. This matter remains under investigation and will be subject to further legal proceedings.
At this point, the truck driver faces reckless driving charges and related potential criminal consequences. While this truck driver’s case continues to develop, it seems like a proper occasion to review several Virginia statutes that address reckless driving.
Virginia Laws Against Reckless Driving
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852 establishes the legal foundation of reckless driving. Under this statute, it is illegal to drive a vehicle in a way that threatens the safety of other people or property. Any person who operates a vehicle in such a dangerous or reckless fashion can face criminal charges.
On top of the general rule described above, Virginia state law also classifies other behavior as reckless driving. For example, Code of Virginia Section 46.2-853 makes it unlawful to operate a motor vehicle with inadequate or improperly adjusted brakes. Any person who violates this law in Virginia can face criminal punishment for reckless driving.
Virginia Punishment for Reckless Driving
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 furnishes the state punishment for reckless driving. Under this statute, reckless driving is ordinarily charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction for this misdemeanor can lead to a maximum jail sentence of 12 months and criminal fines up to $2,500.
There is, however, an increased penalty for certain types of reckless driving offenses. If a person commits reckless driving on a suspended license and causes the death of another person, it is a Class 6 felony. A conviction for this felony can lead to a prison sentence of one to five years and criminal fines up to $2,500.
In addition to the criminal penalties above, there is also a real chance that reckless driving offenses include driver’s license suspension. Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393, the state courts may suspend the driver’s license of a person convicted of reckless driving. The suspension period can last from 60 days to six months.
Do You Need Legal Help?
If you have legal questions about criminal charges for reckless driving under Virginia law, we can help. Don’t hesitate to contact the Leesburg reckless driving attorneys at Simms Showers LLP today.