Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Northstar Church and Nonprofit Video Conference and Business Webinar Recordings Here! Click Here to View!
Leesburg & Loudoun County Attorney
Call For a Consultation Today Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only 703-879-1364 Make a payment
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Hablamos Español
Sign Up for Our Newsletter!
Lawpay Payment Page

Virginia Reckless Driving Crash Causes 2 Deaths & 7 Injuries


A 25-year-old man from Houston, Texas faces criminal charges for reckless driving in Virginia after allegedly causing an accident that resulted in two deaths and injuries to seven people, according to an article by ABC affiliate WJLA.

On Thursday, September 8 at approximately 8:30 p.m., the Texas man was driving an RV eastbound on Interstate 66 before allegedly crashing into a tractor-trailer. Then the RV left the highway, plowed through a guardrail, and continued down into an embankment.

As a result of this accident, the Texas man sustained minor injuries and received medical treatment at a local hospital. In addition:

  • A 39-year-old woman from Houston, Texas died at the scene;
  • A 24-year-old woman from Houston, Texas died at the scene;
  • A 23-year-old passenger in the RV sustained life-threatening injuries;
  • Four other passengers in the RV sustained minor injuries; and
  • The driver of the tractor-trailer sustained minor injuries.

At this juncture, the Texas man faces criminal charges in Virginia for driving without a valid license and reckless driving. While this man awaits further developments in court, it seems like a proper occasion to review the Virginia laws against and penalties for reckless driving.

Reckless Driving Laws in Virginia

Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852 establishes the state laws against reckless driving. Under this section, it is unlawful to drive in a reckless or dangerous manner that creates a risk of property damage, physical injury, or death. Though, it is important to note that Virginia law prohibits other versions of reckless driving in addition to the general definition above.

Reckless Driving Penalties in Virginia

Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 provides the state penalties for reckless driving. Under this section, reckless driving ordinarily results in Class 1 misdemeanor charges. Upon conviction, the punishment for a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia can include a maximum of 12 months in county jail and $2,500 in criminal fines.

But there is an important exception. Reckless driving under Section 46.2-868 can lead to Class 6 felony charges if the offender:

  • Drives without a valid license due to suspension or revocation for a moving violation; and
  • Causes the death of a victim as a sole and proximate result of reckless driving.

Upon conviction, the punishment for a Class 6 felony in Virginia can include imprisonment for one to five years and up to $2,500 in criminal fines.

Do You Need Legal Help?

If you have legal questions about reckless driving in Virginia, it can be highly productive to contact a skilled Leesburg reckless driving attorney. The attorneys at Simms Showers LLP know how to defend against criminal charges like reckless driving. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free initial consultation.





Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Contact the Leesburg, Winchester & Loudoun County Attorneys of Simms Showers LLP today

Simms Showers LLP is conveniently located two blocks from the Loudoun County Courthouse. Our criminal defense firm offers a free phone consultation for criminal or personal injury cases. Se habla español. Call Simms Showers LLP for quality legal counsel today at 703-997-7821 or contact us online.

I acknowledge that contacting Simms Showers LLP, through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.
Return To Top
x Which Newsletter are you intersted in? *