Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Northstar Church and Nonprofit Video Conference and Business Webinar Recordings Here! Click Here to View!
Leesburg & Loudoun County Attorney
Call For a Consultation Today Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only 703-879-1364 Make a payment
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Hablamos Español
Sign Up for Our Newsletter!
Lawpay Payment Page

Virginia Reckless Driving Charges Levied After Police Officer Injury

handcuffs

A Virginia police officer is in the hospital as a result of an alleged reckless driving incident, according to an article by WCYB.

Local law enforcement indicated that the officer attempted to pull over a vehicle. The driver refused to obey the officer’s commands and tried to escape on Interstate 81. After abandoning their vehicle, the driver then attempted to flee on foot. In the process of apprehending the driver, the police officer sustained a head injury.

The driver in question now faces criminal charges for resisting arrest, fleeing or eluding police, and reckless driving. To understand the potential consequences of this incident, the following sections will explore the Virginia penalties for all three of the aforementioned offenses.

Resisting Arrest Penalties in Virginia

Under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-460, resisting arrest is usually charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Upon conviction for a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, the penalties can include criminal fines up to $2,500 and a maximum of 12 months in county jail.

Fleeing or Eluding Penalties in Virginia

Under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-817, fleeing or eluding police is usually charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, the penalty is typically the same or substantially similar to the one described in the section above.

If the offense results in danger or harm to a police officer, however, fleeing or eluding can become a Class 6 felony crime. Upon conviction for a Class 6 felony in Virginia, the penalties can include criminal fines up to $2,500 and one to five years in prison.

If the offense results in the death of a police officer, fleeing or eluding can become a Class 4 felony crime. Upon conviction for a Class 4 felony in Virginia, the penalties can include criminal fines up to $100,000 and two to 10 years in prison.

Reckless Driving Penalties in Virginia

Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868, reckless driving is usually charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, the penalty is the same or substantially similar to the one described in the section above.

Reckless driving can morph into a Class 6 felony. The felony version of this offense applies to any offense where the offender:

  • Had a suspended or revoked license;
  • Commits reckless driving; and
  • Causes a fatality to any person.

Upon conviction for a Class 6 felony in Virginia, the penalty is typically the same or substantially similar to the one described in the section above.

Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393, reckless driving offenses are also subject to driver’s license suspension. This section allows for a suspension period of two to six months for a reckless driving conviction.

Reach Out to Us Today for Help

The Leesburg reckless driving attorneys at Simms Showers LLP can help you with your charges. Reach out to us today for help.

Resource:

wcyb.com/news/local/washington-county-virginia-deputy-hospitalized-following-pursuit

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Contact the Leesburg, Winchester & Loudoun County Attorneys of Simms Showers LLP today

Simms Showers LLP is conveniently located two blocks from the Loudoun County Courthouse. Our criminal defense firm offers a free phone consultation for criminal or personal injury cases. Se habla español. Call Simms Showers LLP for quality legal counsel today at 703-997-7821 or contact us online.

I acknowledge that contacting Simms Showers LLP, through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.
Return To Top
x Which Newsletter are you intersted in? *