Virginia Man Faces DUI Charges After Serious Accident In Leesburg
A Virginia man faces charges for DUI/DWI after allegedly causing a crash in Leesburg that resulted in serious injury to four victims, according to an article by Patch.
The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office stated that this accident occurred on Friday, February 4 at approximately 4 p.m. That is when the Virginia man was driving westbound near the intersection of Carter Ridge Lane and Stumptown Road. Allegedly, the Virginia man veered into the eastbound lane and crashed into a vehicle with four people inside.
As a result of this accident, the Virginia man and all four people in the other vehicle received medical treatment for serious injuries. Though the authorities do not believe that any of these injuries are life threatening.
At this point, the Virginia man faces criminal charges for DUI/DWI. Though it is possible that the authorities file other charges against this person, such as DUI/DWI maiming.
DUI/DWI Laws & Penalties in Virginia
The state laws against DUI/DWI appear under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-266. This section makes it illegal to drive or operate certain vehicles while intoxicated or impaired. Under Section 18.2-266, a driver can become intoxicated or impaired due to alcohol, drugs (legal or illegal), other substances, or a combination of various substances.
The state penalties for DUI/DWI appear under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-270. It is vital to note that DUI/DWI penalties can change based on certain factors — such as the number of previous offenses or the transportation of a minor. But generally speaking, the Virginia penalties for DUI/DWI are as follows:
- First Conviction — Class 1 misdemeanor with a minimum of $250 in criminal fines and, sometimes, a mandatory jail sentence of five to 10 days;
- Second Conviction — Class 1 misdemeanor with a minimum of $500 in criminal fines and a mandatory jail sentence of 10 to 20 days;
- Third Conviction — Class 6 felony with a minimum of $1,000 in criminal fines and a mandatory prison sentence of three to six months; or
- Fourth or Subsequent Conviction — Class 6 felony with a minimum of $1,000 in criminal fines and a mandatory prison sentence of one year.
DUI/DWI Maiming Laws & Penalties in Virginia
The state laws against and penalties for DUI/DWI maiming appear under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-51.4. This section makes it illegal to:
- Commit DUI/DWI in a way that demonstrates a reckless disregard for human life; and
- Unintentionally cause serious bodily injury or permanent and significant impairment.
Any person who violates Section 18.2-51.4 and causes serious bodily injury is guilty of a Class 6 felony. If convicted, the punishment can include imprisonment for one to five years and criminal fines up to $2,500.
Any person who violates Section 18.2-51.4 and causes permanent and significant impairment is guilty of a Class 4 felony. If convicted, the punishment can include imprisonment for two to 10 years and criminal fines up to $100,000.
Do You Need Legal Help?
The dedicated Leesburg criminal attorneys at Simms Showers LLP can protect your rights. Reach out to us today for a consultation.