Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Northstar Church and Nonprofit Video Conference and Business Webinar Recordings Here! Click Here to View!
Leesburg & Loudoun County Attorney
Call For a Consultation Today Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only 703-879-1364 Make a payment
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Hablamos Español
Sign Up for Our Newsletter!
Lawpay Payment Page

Virginia Driver Clocked At 140mph & Charged For Reckless Driving

RecklessDr6

Local authorities charged a Virginia driver with reckless driving as a result of a 140-mile-per-hour speeding ticket, according to an article by ABC7.

The Virginia State Police clocked the driver at 140 in a 70-mile-per-hour zone of Interstate 64. State troopers executed a traffic stop and ticketed the offending driver.

At this point, the Virginia driver will await further developments in their legal case, including the probability of criminal charges. In the meantime, it seems like an appropriate moment to review Virginia laws against reckless driving, including the excessive speeding version.

Virginia Laws Against Reckless Driving

Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852 establishes the state laws against reckless driving. Under this section, it is unlawful to operate a vehicle in manner that creates a likelihood of property damage, physical injury, or death. Any driver who violates Section 46.2-852 is guilty of reckless driving.

In addition to the general rule above, Virginia law prohibits other types of reckless driving, including excessive speeding. Under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-862, the excessive speeding version of reckless driving applies to any person who:

  • Drives at a speed 20 miles per hour or more above the speed limit; or
  • Drives at a speed of 85 miles per hour, no matter the speed limit.

If a person commits either version of reckless driving above — or a different version, such as driving a vehicle with faulty brakes — the punishment will be similar. As explained below, for the most part, Virginia law punishes all versions of reckless driving in a substantially similar manner.

Virginia Penalties for Reckless Driving

Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 provides the state penalties for reckless driving, including excessive speeding and other versions. Under this section, reckless driving is usually charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Upon conviction, the punishment can include 12 months in jail, $2,500 in criminal fines, and 60 days to six months of driver’s license suspension.

Section 46.2-868 also details a Class 6 felony version of reckless driving. This elevated charge applies to reckless driving incidents that:

  • Occurred on a suspended or revoked driver’s license; and
  • Served as the proximate cause of a fatality.

Upon conviction for reckless driving at the Class 6 felony level, a driver may face a punishment of 12 to 60 months in prison, $2,500 in criminal fines, and 60 days to six months of driver’s license suspension.

Do You Need Legal Help?

If you are facing charges, we can help. Reach out to the Leesburg reckless driving lawyers at Simms Showers LLP for a consultation.

Resource:

wjla.com/news/local/holiday-rush-va-trooper-tickets-driver-for-going-140-mph-on-i-64

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Contact the Leesburg, Winchester & Loudoun County Attorneys of Simms Showers LLP today

Simms Showers LLP is conveniently located two blocks from the Loudoun County Courthouse. Our criminal defense firm offers a free phone consultation for criminal or personal injury cases. Se habla español. Call Simms Showers LLP for quality legal counsel today at 703-997-7821 or contact us online.

I acknowledge that contacting Simms Showers LLP, through this website does not create an attorney-client relationship, and information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.
Return To Top
x Which Newsletter are you intersted in? *