Reckless Driving Leads To Death & Severe Injury In Virginia
A Virginia woman allegedly committed reckless driving and caused one death and severe injuries, according to an article by WJHL.
Virginia State Police reported that this incident occurred on Monday, October 18 at approximately 12:30 p.m. The Virginia woman allegedly lost control, drove off the road and caused the vehicle to flip over. Initial reports did not indicate any other vehicles were involved.
As a result of this incident, one passenger died from injuries sustained during the accident. First responders transported a second passenger with severe injuries to a local hospital for medical treatment. The Virginia woman driving the vehicle did not appear to sustain any injuries.
Due to the circumstances of this incident, local authorities charged the Virginia woman with failure to maintain proper control, which is a specific type of reckless driving. To understand the potential consequences of this incident, the following sections will explore the rules against and punishment for reckless driving in Virginia.
Virginia Rules Against Reckless Driving
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852 furnishes the general rule against reckless driving. Under this section, it is unlawful to drive a vehicle in a manner that endangers the safety of property or any person. Drivers who violate this law face criminal charges for reckless driving in Virginia.
While the general rule explained above is fairly broad, Virginia law includes other types of conduct as reckless driving. Code of Virginia Section 46.2-853 details one type of conduct that qualifies as reckless driving — failure to maintain proper control.
Section 46.2-853 requires that all drivers maintain proper control over their vehicle. Furthermore, drivers must ensure that their vehicle has adequate and properly adjusted brakes. Drivers who violate this law will face criminal charges for reckless driving in Virginia.
Virginia Punishment for Reckless Driving
Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868 establishes the punishment for reckless driving. Under this section, reckless driving is ordinarily charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction at this level can lead to a punishment with an upper limit of $2,500 in criminal fines and 12 months in county jail.
Section 46.2-868 also outlines a Class 6 felony version of reckless driving. This enhanced charge applies to any driver who:
- Commits reckless driving on a suspended or revoked license; and
- Causes the death of another person.
A conviction for a Class 6 felony can lead to $2,500 in criminal fines and one to five years in prison.
For both misdemeanor and felony versions of reckless driving, there is also the possibility of license suspension under Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393. The suspension period for reckless driving can range from 60 days to six months.
Do You Need Legal Help?
The Leesburg reckless driving attorneys at Simms Showers LLP can help you if you are facing criminal charges. Reach out to us today for a consultation.