Loudoun County Deputy Injured Pursuing Robbery Suspects
According to an article by Loudoun Now, a Loudoun County Sheriff’s deputy sustained injury while pursuing several felony robbery suspects.
This incident occurred at approximately 6 p.m. on January 29. That is when the Sheriff’s Office received reports of suspected thieves at a retail store in Sterling. Upon the arrival of the deputies, two suspects attempted to escape by fleeing. One of the suspects hopped into an apparent getaway vehicle, speeding off and striking one of the deputies.
Sheriff’s deputies were able to locate and apprehend all of the suspects during a subsequent search of the surrounding area. Two of the suspects were minors and, thus, will face charges for juvenile offenses. The other two suspects are over the age of 18 years old and will face felony charges for robbery and several other offenses.
While the two adult suspects remain in police custody at the Loudoun County Adult Detention Center, it seems like a proper opportunity to review the Virginia laws against and penalties for robbery offenses.
Virginia Laws Against Robbery
Virginia adheres to the common law definition of robbery. This means that a person commits robbery if they:
- Take property from a victim unlawfully; and
- Use force or the threat of force to complete the act.
Virginia Penalties for Robbery
The Virginia penalties for robbery appear at Code of Virginia Section 18.2-58. Under this section, there are four different charges for robbery offenses.
If robbery involves threat or intimidation without a deadly weapon, it is a Class 6 felony in Virginia. Upon conviction, the punishment can include imprisonment for one to five years and a maximum criminal fine of $2,500.
If robbery involves physical force without serious bodily injury, it is a Class 5 felony in Virginia. The same is true for robbery offenses that involve a deadly weapon other than a firearm. Upon conviction, the punishment can include imprisonment for one to 10 years and a maximum criminal fine of $2,500.
If robbery involves the use or display of a firearm in a threatening manner, it is a Class 3 felony in Virginia. Upon conviction, the punishment can include imprisonment for five to 20 years and a maximum criminal fine of $100,000.
If robbery involves the infliction of serious bodily harm or death, it is a Class 2 felony. Upon conviction, the punishment can include imprisonment for 20 years to life and a maximum criminal fine of $100,000.
In this context, it is important to note the definition of serious bodily harm under Code of Virginia Section 18.2-51.4. This term refers to any injury that involves:
- Substantial risk of death;
- Extreme physical pain;
- Protracted and obvious disfigurement; or
- Protracted loss or impairment of physical capability or mental faculties.
Do You Need Legal Help?
For help with your case, reach out to the Leesburg felony & misdemeanor lawyers at Simms Showers LLP. We are prepared to assist you today.