Skip to main content
Northstar Church and Nonprofit Video Conference and Business Webinar Recordings Here! Click Here to View!

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
SIMMS SHOWERS LLP Leesburg & Loudoun County Attorney
  • CALL FOR A CONSULTATION TODAY
  • ~
  • Free for Personal Injury & Criminal Defense Only
  • ~
  • HABLAMOS ESPAÑOL

How Does Virginia Define & Punish Cocaine Drug Crimes?

Drug1

Despite laws against and penalties for cocaine drug crimes under the Virginia Criminal Code, this substance features prominently in news across the commonwealth. Although there are narrow exceptions, Virginia largely prohibits the possession or distribution of cocaine. Any person who violates these Virginia laws can face serious consequences, such as prison time, criminal fines, or both.

What are the Virginia Laws Against Possession of Cocaine?

Code of Virginia Section 18.2-250 furnishes the state laws against possession of a controlled substance, including cocaine. In the absence of a valid prescription or a similarly authorized exception, it is unlawful to knowingly possess cocaine in Virginia.

How Does Virginia Punish Possession of Cocaine?

The Virginia punishment for possession of cocaine also appears under Section 18.2-250. Any person who violates this section with respect to a Schedule I/II controlled substance — which includes cocaine — is guilty of a Class 5 felony.

Upon conviction for a Class 5 felony in Virginia, the punishment can include criminal fines up to $2,500 and a prison sentence between one and 10 years.

What are the Virginia Laws Against Distribution of Cocaine?

Code of Virginia Section 18.2-248 supplies the state laws against distribution of a controlled substance. This section makes it illegal to distribute, sell, manufacture, or give away any cocaine. This section also prohibits the possession of cocaine with the intent to distribute, sell, manufacture, or give away.

How Does Virginia Punish Distribution of Cocaine?

The Virginia punishment for distribution of cocaine also appears under Section 18.2-248. Any person who violates this section with respect to:

  • Less than 500 grams of cocaine (first violation) — Will typically be charged with a felony and face a possible punishment of criminal fines up to $500,000 and a prison sentence of five to 40 years;
  • Less than 500 grams of cocaine (second violation) — Will typically be charged with a felony and face a possible punishment of criminal fines up to $500,000 and a prison sentence of five years to life;
  • Less than 500 grams of cocaine (third or subsequent violation) — Will typically be charged with a felony and face a possible punishment of criminal fines up to $500,000 and a prison sentence of 10 years to life;
  • At least 500 grams of cocaine — Will typically be charged with a felony and face a possible punishment of criminal fines up to $1 million and a prison sentence of five years to life; or
  • At least 5 kilograms of cocaine — Will typically be charged with a felony and face a possible punishment of criminal fines up to $1 million and a prison sentence of 20 years to life.

Do You Need Legal Help?

For help with your case, reach out to the Leesburg drug crimes lawyers at Simms Showers LLP. We are eager to assist you today.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Simms Showers LLP is conveniently located two blocks from the Loudoun County Courthouse. Our criminal defense firm offers a free phone consultation for criminal or personal injury cases. Se habla español. Call Simms Showers LLP for quality legal counsel today at 703-997-7821 or contact us online.

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation

CALL FOR A CONSULTATION TODAY 703-879-1364