Drunk & Reckless Driver Clocked At 152 MPH In Virginia
A Virginia man likely faces criminal charges for reckless driving and DUI after allegedly operating a vehicle at more than twice the speed limit, according to an article by WTOP.
The Virginia State Police apparently pulled over this man after clocking his vehicle at 152 miles per hour on Interstate 81. The posted speed limit in that zone is 70 miles per hour. The Virginia man also displayed signs of intoxication, leading to his eventual arrest.
There is a general definition of reckless driving under Virginia law. Code of Virginia Section 46.2-852 prohibits any person from operating a motor vehicle in a dangerous manner that creates a risk of property damage, personal injury, or death.
Furthermore, Virginia law also classifies other types of behavior as reckless driving, such as the excessive speeding in the case at hand. The following sections will explore the laws against and penalties for reckless driving that involves excessive speeding.
Virginia Laws Against Excessive Speeding
As noted above, excessive speeding is a type of reckless driving charge under Virginia law. The statute that governs this offense, Code of Virginia Section 46.2-862, prohibits any person from operating a motor vehicle:
- At least 20 miles per hour above the posted speed limit; or
- More than 85 miles per hour, regardless of the posted speed limit.
Virginia Penalties for Excessive Speeding
The state penalties for excessive speeding and other versions of reckless driving appear at Code of Virginia Section 46.2-868. Under this section, excessive speeding is usually charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Upon conviction for a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, the maximum punishment can include criminal fines of $2,500 and a jail sentence of 12 months.
That said, excessive speeding and other versions of reckless driving can result in felony charges. For instance, it is a Class 6 felony to:
- Commit reckless driving on a suspended or revoked driver’s license; and
- Cause the death of any other person.
Upon conviction for a Class 6 felony in Virginia, the punishment can include criminal fines up to $2,500 and a prison sentence between one and five years.
On a related note, excessive speeding and other versions of reckless driving can be subject to driver’s license suspension. Code of Virginia Section 46.2-393 enables the possibility of driver’s license suspension for a period of two to six months for a conviction of reckless driving. This suspension period also applies to any version of reckless driving, which includes excessive speeding.
Reach Out to Us Today for Help
If you are facing charges, it’s important to contact a skilled Leesburg criminal lawyer. Don’t hesitate to contact Simms Showers LLP for help with your case.